Skip to content

Law School = High School

December 21, 2010

I have a locker.  My class size is about 200, which is 1/3 the size of my high school class.  And I’m reliving the angst of not knowing what I’ll be when I grow up.  But I don’t have much time to decide.  One way that law school is not like high school is that it is so front-loaded.  The first semester is the most important.  I’m already applying for jobs.  What you do the first summer often sets the course for the rest of your career. 

Here’s my current dream:  I’d like to concentrate on disability/special education law.  It’d be cool if my career had commonalities with the career of my wife, who has her master’s in Early Childhood Special Education.  It would be fun to sue the government to make them give kids what they have promised to give them.  Also I wonder if, instead of focusing on a particular area of the law, I could focus on a particular sort of client and their various needs.  Families with children with disabilities face other legal issues.  For example, their estate planning can be more complicated.  And there are probably some other ones that I haven’t thought about or learned about yet.

There’s a law firm in Chicago that specializes in this area.  One of my tasks for this winter break is to send them a resume’ and see if they’d let me loiter there for several weeks this summer and learn how to do what they do.  Probably a long shot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

