Skip to content

I wonder, do ya know Him?

February 20, 2009

I just wrote a few sentences for Sunday’s sermon that actually had a little rhythm. I was reminded of this sermon. O to preach like this! My king is a seven-way king. Listen. (will open and play mp3 – 5mins)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 5:31 pm

    Love that sermon. Was listening to it the other day.

  2. February 21, 2009 11:27 pm

    man o man…a little of that goes a long way.

    He must have been the forerunner to John Piper.

    I would have liked it much better it was a sermon rather than a class.

    A sermon gives out God’s law to convict and kill and then hands over (without charge or strings) the gospel, that IT might raise us to new life again.

  3. February 22, 2009 12:39 am

    theoldadam,

    I’m not sure what you’re hearing and reacting to in there. Is it just the title I’ve given the post? Are you hearing that as some kind of challenge to assurance? I don’t think he means it that way.

    As far as I can tell, this sermon excerpt is just an expression of praise to Jesus. It’s not didactic, but exultant. Surely we can let someone say, “Jesus is awesome!” without questioning whether he’s rightly divided law and gospel.

  4. February 22, 2009 3:01 am

    isaiah453,

    I’m spoiled that’s all.

    I’m just used to sermons that are sermons.

    I hear all manner of sermons around here (where I live) and they are not really sermons in the classical sense, they are more like bible studies…giving you info. on god or the Bible,

    A classic sermon ought kill you and raise you…everytime.A good sermon ought to hand Christ to you. Give Him to you (not talk about Him).

    Nothing against this Gentleman. I’m sure he’s a good guy and a good pastor.

    I’m just spoiled when it comes to sermons.

    I

  5. February 22, 2009 9:29 am

    When I hear sermons such as John Piper’s, who uses very flowery adjectives to describe God, and who, in my mind anyway, does this ad nauseum, I think He is building up God for some purpose and the purpose I think is to lead the person to some intellectual point of decision, or ???.

    The devil knows all of God’s atributes. So what?

    The point of a good sermon ought to be the death and resurrection of the sinner to follow the death and resurrection of our Lord.

    Slay ’em and raise ’em.

    Let them know where they are being had. “being had” by the world, their own sin, and the devil…and then hand Christ over to them.

    “Your sins are forgiven.” “He died for you.” “He gives you new life in the bread and the wind.” “Come and receive what the world could never buy.”
    “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.”
    “It is finished.”

    Romans 1:16

    That’s my idea of a great sermon. And we can all do that without too much trouble.

  6. February 22, 2009 9:30 am

    That should have read…

    “Bread and ‘WINE’ “

  7. February 22, 2009 2:07 pm

    We share the same view of law/gospel in sermons, but I think you’re being overcritical of a five minute excerpt. Also, Piper preaches differently than you’re used to, and I have my differences with him at times, but he’s certainly been used by God to slay me and raise me up time and time again.

  8. February 22, 2009 10:51 pm

    isaiah543,

    I think you are right.

    I probably am being too tough on him.

    I have reconsidered and I think he was alright.

  9. Romans5 permalink
    December 16, 2009 4:48 am

    I love it. You can not praise the Lord enough for his grace and glory. Just as we can never live a life deserving of salvation, we can never give enough praise. In Psalm 23 David says, “The Lord IS my Shepherd.” David is certain the Lord is with him, taking him through the dark valley, and into the the House of the Lord. This authority on the Lord is certain the Lord is great, so great that he is beyond the ability of man to describe. Amen.

Leave a Reply

