Skip to content

Umm…no.

January 9, 2009

I am so not one of these guys:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. gorfchild permalink
    January 9, 2009 3:44 pm

    Ow, ow, OWW . . . it huuuuurts!

  2. January 10, 2009 3:48 am

    I wish the “anything” included preaching God’s law and His gospel fully and freely.

    Not using His law as a lawnmower manual and not using His gospel as some sort of bait and switch gimmick to get you to become what ‘you ought to become’.

  3. January 11, 2009 11:28 pm

    I posted a comment on that YouTube video, but it has been deleted. It was one word: “Disgraceful.”

    My comment sparked the following exchange:


    Hi! Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend.

    My name is Amanda; I’m on staff at Mount Hope and am one of the people who monitor the church’s YouTube account. I just noticed the comment you posted on “The Pastors Who Will Do Anything” video and I am concerned…what did you feel was disgraceful about it?

    I would like to understand your perspective as we would never put want to put something out there that could be viewed as shameful and disreputable. This video was done in fun, but if there’s something we missed about it I would like to understand.

    Thanks in advance for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    :) Amanda

    It is unbecoming of pastors to act like jesters.

    It is not funny for pastors to joke about bribing people to attend the assembly.

    It is shameful to demean the Gospel of Jesus Christ with an antithesis of John 6:26, just to get a laugh.

    It casts your efforts at outreach in a dishonorable light.

    It embarrasses other professing Christians whom unbelievers might associate with this frivolous, impish impiety.

    At Mount Hope Church we take the Gospel very seriously; we, however, do not take ourselves seriously 100% of the time. We believe what Proverbs 17:22 says… ‘A cheerful heart is good medicine.’ Thanks for sharing your point of view
    with us. Kind regards.

    You appear to have ignored the substance of my answer. I urge you to consider that you might have something to learn here.

    I showed your video in Sunday School this morning, as an example of what we’re up against in American Christianity. It spoke for itself.

  4. February 2, 2009 12:38 am
  5. February 2, 2009 12:39 am

    ^Oh, that was supposed to be an inserted GIF of my reaction… click on the link, instead, I guess:

Leave a Reply

