Skip to content

Penn (of Penn and Teller) on Proselytizing

December 18, 2008

Ed Stetzer posted this challenging video on his blog today.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2008 1:35 pm

    Very interesting. “Good man”? He kept going back to that.

    Can there be ‘good’ with God?

  2. December 18, 2008 1:42 pm

    True, no one is good but God alone. But the unbeliever doesn’t yet understand that. What encourages me about this video is that here is at least one unbeliever who appreciates a simple honest (that seemed a keyword for him, didn’t it?) non-manipulative offer of the gospel. Makes me want to simply offer it more.

  3. December 18, 2008 2:43 pm

    I noticed that as well “honest”.

    A sincere caring, honest, approach of someone, with confrontation, may be the best appraoch.

    I pray that God will use that guys witness to grab hold of Penn’s life.

  4. December 19, 2008 8:36 pm

    I guess it’s something when atheists have to criticize most of us for NOT sharing our faith.

  5. egana permalink
    December 31, 2008 6:12 pm

    “looked me in the eye”

    …seems like he felt respected and cared for by this man – not only by his proselytizing but also by his nonverbal behavior

    thanks for putting this up – this is the second time this week I have been reminded to share what I have in Christ – extend the feast to the others waiting to eat something real and sustaining…

  6. January 19, 2009 9:45 pm

    I haven’t been able to get this video out of my mind. It’s clear to me that Penn,though he doesn’t know how to express it other than to day “a really good man”… Penn was possibly taken by the character of Jesus in this man. I’m personally challanged in a deep way by Penn’s comments. Thanks for sharing.

  7. egana permalink
    February 1, 2009 9:31 pm

    I, too, have been thinking about this video for awhile. I am convinced that I will need to spend more time with my unbelieving friends to foster this kind of sincerity between us – and since daily hours are limited, that means less time with church folks and serving the church.

    If I am running from event to event, I do not have time for meaningful conversations with my unbelieving friends.

  8. February 1, 2009 10:45 pm

    I heard some of the simplest and best advice about evangelism the other day. Find something you really like to do and do it with an unbeliever.

  9. February 26, 2009 9:18 am

    The “looking me in the eye” and “good man” speaks volumes about what was happening there. That Penn didn’t know the Psalms is not part of the new testament could indicate he’s had little or no exposure to the Word. Penn is obviously a highly intelligent guy who has always impressed me with his deep common sense thoughtfulness. He’s too smart NOT to see God’s handiwork. Let’s join this good guy business man and pray that God will continue to convict Penn who may have had some rough experiences as a kid or has looked at the pain and evil in the world and concluded a loving God could not exist.

  10. February 26, 2009 2:23 pm

    I’ve linked t this from my blog on Prayer-Care-Share evangelism … Not everyone will be as appreciative as Penn, but I am certain he speaks for many.

    http://www.lc2c.blogspot.com

Leave a comment