Skip to content

The Hammer of God

November 21, 2008

hammer-of-god

I just finished this novel on Monday that I had received through interlibrary loan. It was so good, that I have now ordered my own copy and I plan on reading it to the family. It’s a story that takes place in Sweden of three Lutheran pastorates spanning 200 years. Each pastor has his own awakening as the law hammers on his heart and drives him to the gospel. If you’re curious why your pastor is getting all Lutheran, but you’re not curious enough to read a book like Walther’s Law and Gospel, then this is the book for you. Click to order. You’ll love it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 12:39 pm

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    I often carry it around while going about my daily business in town.

    The title alone is a great conversation starter.

    GREAT THEOLOGY!!!!

    After that…try some Gerhard Forde. More awesome theology.

  2. November 22, 2008 1:50 pm

    Thanks for the tip. I’ve requested it via inter-library loan after reading what I could on Amazon and being left hanging on the side of a cliff!

  3. November 29, 2008 9:49 am

    I’ll have to look for that. Sounds far more helpful than “The Shack”.

  4. November 29, 2008 10:14 am

    How is Pless’ Handling the Word of Truth: Law & Gospel in the Church Today? Seems much shorter than Walther.

  5. November 29, 2008 10:49 am

    Haven’t read it. I’ll ask my Lutheran buddies if they recommend it.

  6. November 29, 2008 1:56 pm

    isaiah543,

    Any Lutheran worth his or her salt will recommend it. If they haven’t read it tell them that they have to do a half million years in pergatory. Also, another must read (especially for Lutherans for cryin’ out loud) is Luther’s ‘The Bondage of the Will’.

    Luther didn’t quite have everything hammered out in that book, but there are some real gems in there.

  7. February 11, 2009 12:13 pm

    Get to preach on God’s hammer out of the 2nd half of Gal. 3 this week. The law is meant to beat us up and lock us up. Some good imagery to keep in mind when we try to make it a ladder.

Leave a Reply

