Skip to content

Ecumenism

September 13, 2008

The things that divide conservatives and liberals mean very very little to me anymore.  The only divide I really care about is self-righteousness vs. Christ-righteousness.  There is conservative self-righteousness and there is liberal self-righteousness and I hate them both.  But if you are trusting in Christ for righteousness, then any disagreements we might have over women’s ordination or the date of the book of Daniel are negligible.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    September 30, 2008 5:07 pm

    Man I am groovin on Sunday’s sermon on Romans 14. I can tell I am going to chew on this one for awhile.

    I am currently trying to wrap my head around the fact that my bad behavior concerning my freedom in Christ allows others to speak evil about that freedom – provoking unnecessary controversy.

    Oh man, that is so right. But I thought I needed to defend my freedom, both because I thought it was the right thing to do, and because I felt threatened by someone else’s conviction. It is interesting that resting under my master’s authority over me allows me to gracious accept all sorts of disagreements – there is no need to defend myself, when I am under his authority and know that I will answer ultimately only to him.

    So, when self-defense is gone, there is freedom to love and show gracious patience with those who would burden me with their rules to increase my holiness. I can now graciously “bow out” of these discussions and enjoy talking about the Gospel and the Love of God instead.

    I am so relieved that I am questioning my understanding of this chapter.

  2. Nonnie permalink
    October 12, 2008 8:45 am

    ” But if you are trusting in Christ for righteousness, then any disagreements we might have over women’s ordination or the date of the book of Daniel are negligible.”

    Amen, Amen, and Amen!
    Preach it brother!

  3. October 26, 2008 1:40 am

    Amen!

    Christ’s forgiveness for sinners is what it’s all about. If you’re a sinner…then I guess you qualify.

Leave a Reply

