Skip to content

Another Great Luther Quote

May 29, 2008

It’s the supreme art of the devil that he can make the law out of the gospel. If I can hold on to the distinction between law and gospel, I can say to him any and every time that he should kiss my backside. … Once I debate about what I have done and left undone, I am finished. But if I reply on the basis of the gospel, “The forgiveness of sins covers it all,” I have won.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2008 9:34 pm

    hmmmm, could have used that today, preaching on Heb. 10:19-25, including his promise to remember our sins no more.

  2. September 15, 2008 9:38 am

    Great quote.

    Do you know the source? (I mean, which writing…obviously, Luther is the source.)

  3. September 15, 2008 10:23 am

    It’s from Tabletalk, I’ll post the volume and page number when I get to the office tomorrow.

  4. Martin permalink
    September 21, 2008 5:24 pm

    would also appreciate details of the source

  5. September 22, 2008 8:54 am

    Here’s where to find it:

    Luther’s Works, Vol. 54: Table Talk, p. 106. (Summer or Fall 1533 #590) Concordia Publishing House and Fortress Press, 1967, Tappert and Lehman eds.

  6. October 7, 2008 9:30 pm

    Did get to use it this Sunday in talking about false accusations and our reputations. I cleaned it up abit out of love for our older saints.

  7. October 26, 2008 1:42 am

    Oh that Luther…what a bulldog for Christ he was…in the tradition of Paul.

Leave a Reply

