Skip to content

My journal was lost, but now is found

May 16, 2008

I lost my journal, but after a week of retracing my steps I retrieved it yesterday in the lost and found at Kinko’s. I was very happy to have it back and I read through it again and I noticed a connection between two answered prayers.

On July 3rd, 2006 I prayed Psalm 42:9 “I say to God, my rock: Why have you forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?” I acknowledged that the enemy of my soul was too strong for me and I asked for deliverance.

On April 4th, 2008 I was reading John 14:14 “You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” So I asked him again for deliverance from the enemy.

On both of these occasions I experienced, in a manner that I cannot explain, an assurance that my prayer had been heard and answered and on both occasions a season of marked progress in the pursuit of holiness followed.

I feel I must share this with you because in the past I have preached that I have found the word to be much more useful than prayer in the battle to resist temptation. This is true to a point. When face to face with temptation it helps me to quote a short memorized verse. Praying in that moment I find too amorphous to be very helpful.

And yet the two most memorable experiences of deliverance over the past two years were occasioned by believing prayer. So I re-commend the practice to you. Go ask him for something.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    May 19, 2008 8:48 am

    I have been listening to the sermon CD, and know exactly what I will ask him for. Thanks for the sermon, and the admonition, and the reminder that God is faithful to answer our prayers.

  2. RevJeff permalink
    May 23, 2008 10:26 pm

    What a relief that you found your private thoughts… however, before they were placed in the lost and found at Kinkos, they were copied 3400 times, colated and placed in the Sunday Newspaper dispensers all around Champaign Urbana…

    ;)

  3. May 25, 2008 11:53 pm

    That’s a scary thought. But because I have the gift of writing in tongues, no one would be able to read them without the gift of interpretation.

Leave a Reply

