Skip to content

Whoa. Did you feel that?

April 18, 2008

We were awakened this morning at 4:37am by a shaking bed and a barking Jack Dog.   At first I thought someone had driven by with some mega-bass coming out of their speakers.  But then I realized we had the windows open and I didn’t hear anything.  Then I thought it was a violent wind storm.  But I looked outside and it was calm.  It was a few minutes before we asked ourselves if it could be an earthquake.  Don’t get many of those ’round these parts.  

Did you feel it?  

“Now when these things begin to take place, straighten up and raise your heads, because your redemption is drawing near.”  (Luke 21:28)

EDIT: A link to more data on the earthquake

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2008 8:25 am

    Yes, we felt it as well. I also wondered if it could have been an earthquake.

  2. April 18, 2008 8:30 am

    Checked out your link. I guess it was.

    When it happened, I was strongly reminded of the feeling I had when I was about 4, living in California; I was awakened by a similar tremor. The feelings and images from that time came back vividly.

    So I guess my brain knew what it was doing.

  3. gorfchild permalink
    April 18, 2008 10:21 am

    Again, at about 10:17 this morning!

  4. April 18, 2008 10:39 am

    Yeah, I felt that one too. It was brief, but pretty intense here in my fourth floor office. I don’t know if that would amplify it or not, but I bounced a bit in my desk chair.

  5. April 18, 2008 10:42 am

    Here’s a link to the second one

    http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/recenteqsww/Quakes/us2008qzbw.php

    First one was 5.4, second one was 4.5

  6. egana permalink
    April 18, 2008 1:07 pm

    I was at Anita Purves Nature Center from 10:00 – 12:00, and I didn’t feel the second one at at all. Weird…

Leave a Reply

