Skip to content

By Request: Intro to 1 Peter

April 8, 2008

The book of 1 Peter consists of two sections of unequal length, 1:1-2:10, and 2:11-5:14.   The second lengthier section calls Christians to “be subject” to one another (2:13, 18, 3:1, 22, 5:5) and to follow Christ’s example of faith, innocence, and patience when suffering.  A key verse is 4:19 “let those who suffer according to God’s will entrust their souls to a faithful Creator while doing good.”

The first section reminds me of a story.  Some years ago a college student in our church led another college student to Christ.  I was called upon to meet with this new Christian for some “initial follow-up” as we used to call it in the Navigators.  I decided I would simply share with her from the passage I had read that morning, 1 Peter 1-2.   It seemed so perfectly suited for such an occasion that now I go to this passage whenever I am encouraging brand new believers.   For it speaks of being born again (1:3, 23, 2:2).  It speaks of our living hope and gives assurance of salvation (1:3-5).  It warns of coming trials (1:6), something we routinely neglect to mention in evangelism.  It calls to obedience (1:14).  It exhorts us to long for the milk of the word of God (2:2).   And it tells us of our place in the church (2:4-10).  We are living stones in a spiritual house.  We are a royal priesthood.  We are part of a people.  This too is routinely neglected in evangelism.   Like physical newborns, spiritual newborns need two things above all else: food and love.  So this call to word and church is well suited for sharing with a new believer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    April 22, 2008 12:08 pm

    I feel rather sheepish…

    but I can’t remember what had me so befuddled when I was reading it…

    maybe I was looking to the passage to answer specific questions (which it did not answer to my liking, or possibly did not even address at all) and so then I was confused by it…

    I can’t remember what my issues were…

    spiritual food and love sound good…

    entrusting our souls to a faithful Creator while doing good sounds good too…

    I think I’ll go back a re-read the book this afternoon when school is done…

Leave a Reply

