Skip to content

Worth Far More Than Rubies

March 20, 2008

I’m sure you’ve thought to yourself many times, “Wow, Mike’s wife is awesome.  What is the secret of her sublime awesomeness?”  Well, it defies simple explanation, but I believe I can let you in on a part of it.   Below is her favorite poem, she can recite it from memory.  She found it written in her grandmother’s journal.  She’s a third generation practitioner of this principle and that’s part of what God has used to make her so awesome.

I know so well the beauty of neat rooms,
Bright curtains and the warmth of polished brass
Wide window sills with plants in colored rows,
Serenity that comes from shining glass
But these, dear Lord, are not important things,
Nor will they leave their mark in days to be,
My children will forget my ordered rooms,
In after years, but when they think of me
May they remember that I laughed much and think
Upon the way I shared their gaiety
How I read them stories from old books, of brave, fair days
And somehow made them see a wider world
O, help them understand
That always, always, I have deemed it more
My task to be as gentle as I could
Than keep clean rugs upon a dusted floor

Happy 16th anniversary to my excellent wife!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 9:22 am

    Our anniversary is actually tomorrow, but tomorrow is also Good Friday, so I thought I’d post this today and do something more cross-centered tomorrow.

  2. egana permalink
    March 24, 2008 12:03 pm

    I’m sure you’ve thought to yourself many times, “Wow, Mike’s wife is awesome. What is the secret of her sublime awesomeness?”

    yes, I have thought that many times. She’s great, and I aspire to be more like her and learn from her as I am able. She has listened to me and encouraged me so many times, puzzled with me adn given me good helpful advice, or just a sympathetic shoulder.

    So I step alongside you and call her blessed. You have found an excellent one, andI’m glad you know it.

    *grin*

    *grin*

Leave a Reply

