Skip to content

For I was hungry and you told me to self-feed…

January 18, 2008

Fantastic post by Jared of the Thinklings.  (I play online chess with some of these guys.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    January 19, 2008 9:39 am

    That was a great post.

    I have been listening to C.S. Lewis’s Narnia series. I drove to Kansas City last week to help my mom, and I took the whole series in audiobook cd. It has been so great to listen to.

    The graciousness gospel of our God and his Son (fictionally depicted in the character Aslan) to give good gifts to his creation, even extending to his own life, has been feeding my soul through my imagination all week.

  2. egana permalink
    January 19, 2008 9:41 am

    …and to my own dear pastor – dude:

    Thanks for faithfully feeding us the Gospel every week. May the Lord bless you for it.

  3. anakainosis permalink
    January 24, 2008 4:09 pm

    I really liked the post too. It’s a challenge to every pastor in modern American churches. I actually sent that link to my pastor here in Atlanta and we both agreed that the gospel is truly spiritual milk for hungry souls and something we need to increase in our church.

    Hope Stetzer is tickling your brain, our game awaits your return.

  4. Oddball permalink
    January 26, 2008 6:54 pm

    I don’t think the problem is THAT people come to get, but WHAT they often come to get (entertainment, self-help tips, affirmation, etc.) I also think passivity is a huge problem. When we are spiritually fed, we should be spurred into action. Too many churchgoers are mere spectators.

  5. Steve permalink
    February 21, 2008 12:53 am

    Do you play bughouse, Mike? (It’s 2-on-2 chess played on 2 boards with teammates using opposite colors, such that a piece I capture may be handed to my teammate, who may drop the piece (almost) anywhere on the board for his move; typically we run 5:00 or so on the clock. A good amount of online programs support it, but it’s not the same without trash talk…). It’s probably on my top 5 “Things I miss from America” list (along with building construction such that 1 tenant’s freezing pipes don’t leave the entire section of the complex without water).

    I’m going to read the post, too.

  6. February 24, 2008 9:55 am

    I’ve never played bughouse. I stink at blitz chess, so I’d probably stink at bughouse, too. The chess games I currently play online average about one move every two days.

Leave a Reply

