Skip to content

In Which Everything Is Explained

October 9, 2007

Tim Keller on evangelicalism, the emerging church, doing justice, the gospel, mean bloggers, responding well to criticism, the future of Europe, and some other things.  My head asplode.  Read it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2007 10:46 am

    That was awesome!

  2. October 9, 2007 5:50 pm

    Hey Pastor Mike,

    Dunno if you remember me. I wrote about you on my xanga, beer-related. I’m also Ed Sohn’s friend. Check out our new blog! =)

    Anyway, I went to the above-mentioned blog and read the summary on Keller. I very much appreciate Tim Keller and his stance on all things evangelical, reformed, and emerging. The other “big” reformed guys are just angry, annoying, and belligerent. They will always claim this isn’t their truth they are mad about, but God’s. However, I feel like, in the end, it’s their understanding of truth they’re yapping about. That is why it’s best to remain humble about all theology and orthodoxy, and let orthopraxy come into the picture.

    Anyway (pt. 2), I’ll just copy here what I wrote on Dashhouse:

    I don’t see why all things emergent can’t coincide, nay, mesh beautifully with all things “newly” reformed.

    I was raised very much reformed, and now I’m very much a part of the Emerging Conversation. LARGELY, evangelical America is being taught an angry position against the emerging church without careful and thorough understanding of its nature. That is dangerous. The evangelical movement, then, becomes pharisaic and legalistic.

    Tim Keller’s words, although very evangelical (and thus, slightly on the defensive), are a sign of hope. He has to point out the flaws of the emerging conversation, while pointing out the flaws of the evangelical movement. I find him the most reasonable and enjoyable of all the Reformed guys (Piper, Driscoll, Mohler, etc.).

    Reformed evangelical theology is always going to be the baseline for all that I learn and I always find comfort and truth in it. BUT I also find truth in things being said about the cross, ministry of Jesus, Christianity, Church, etc. in the Emerging Church.

    I wish this fight between “paradigms” would stop and they see that they desperately NEED each other to build a wholistic BEST way of being faithful to Jesus in our post-modern, rapidly faith-declining time.

    Dan

  3. October 9, 2007 9:26 pm

    Thanks for the link, pastor Mike!

    I had a conversation a couple of nights ago with a dude about this very subject (specifically, the importance of a more strict adherence to scripture in preaching then what may be experienced currently by many “church-goers”), and it was encouraging to be able to have some relevant (and coherent!) opinions from someone else to send to him to continue healthy dialogue.

    Sola scriptura, eh?! ;)

  4. October 9, 2007 9:28 pm

    Oh, and we talked about current divisions based on this “controversy”, and whether making such divisions is beneficial or detrimental to the preaching of the Gospel. Forgot to mention that… but that is what the quotes from the blog that I sent to him were about.

Leave a Reply

