Skip to content

Down with Neonomian Covenant Moralists!

September 11, 2007

Here’s a good statement from Westminster West faculty on current controversies regarding the doctrine of justification.  It’s fairly long, so I suggest you go read the first few paragraphs and then bookmark it and come back later.

ht:Gospel Driven Blog

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ebenezers permalink
    September 16, 2007 3:31 pm

    This was such a good read! It made me see that I need to print out some of the catechisms/confessions and read them in their entirety. I do have a question now, though, that maybe someone can answer. Part of the Heidelberg Catechism (Question and Answer 60 — under the heading “Imputation”) states the following:

    “…yet God, without any merit of mine, of mere grace, grants and imputes to me to perfect satisfaction, righteousness, and holiness of Christ, as if I had never had nor committed any sin, and myself had accomplished all the obedience which Christ has rendered for me; if only I accept such benefit with a believing heart.”

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard this before! At least not in these words. Now, my question (as silly as this may sound): Is that really true? (Particularly the bold part — that I am seen as not having committed sin and that it is as though I myself accomplished Christ’s obedience). I looked up the Heidelberg Catechisms and saw the references that are listed in the answer (2 Cor. 5:21,”…that we might become the righteousness of God in Him” is the reference given for this part of the catechism, I think), but I don’t understand how that verse confirms this specific statement. Help, please!

  2. September 17, 2007 9:58 am

    Yes! It’s really true. For my defense of this understanding of what is called “the imputation of Christ’s active obedience”, go to this page

    http://www.communityefc.org/index.php/CEFChome/sermons/scripture/9

    and listen to the sermons on Romans 1:17a, 3:24, and 4:1-8

    or for written excerpts, search this blog for “imputation”

    https://isaiah543.wordpress.com/?s=imputation

Leave a Reply

