Skip to content

Two Good Songs

August 23, 2007

If you listen to Christian radio, you’ve already heard this song fifty times.  But the band Casting Crowns seems to write songs that get me on the fifty-first listen.  Three years ago their song “I am Yours” completely broke me one day in the car.  Today I finally absorbed the following lyrics.  I hope you will also be blessed by meditating upon them and then really hearing them the next time they come on the radio (which should be sometime in the next 18 minutes).

Here I am Lord and I’m drowning
In Your sea of forgetfulness
The chains of yesterday surround me
I yearn for peace and rest
I don’t want to end up where You found me
And it echoes in my mind
Keeps me awake tonight

I know You’ve cast my sin as far
As the East is from the West
And I stand before You now
As though I’ve never sinned
But today I feel like I’m just one mistake away
From You leaving me this way

Chorus:
Jesus, can You show me just how far the East is from the West?
Cause I can’t bear to see the man I’ve been
Rising up in me again
In the arms of Your mercy I find rest
You know just how far the East is from the West
From one scarred hand to the other

I start the day, the war begins
Endless reminding of my sin
And time and time again
Your truth is drowned out by the storm I’m in
Today I feel like I’m just one mistake away
From You leaving me this way

(Chorus)

I know You’ve washed me white
Turned my darkness into light
I need Your peace to get me through
To get me through this night
I can’t live by what I feel
About the truth Your word reveals
And I’m not holding onto You
But You’re holding onto me
You’re holding onto me

(Chorus)

This is definitely one of those songs fit for performance, not for corporate worship, so you won’t be hearing it at CEFC.  But if you would like to play it at home, here’s a link to some chords for it.

The next song is a simple Scripture chorus that I think will work for corporate worship…

He was pierced for our transgressions
He was crushed for our sins
The punishment that brought us peace was upon Him
And by His wounds, by His wounds we are healed

We are healed by Your sacrifice
And the life that You gave
We are healed for You paid the price
By Your grace we are saved
We are saved

And here’s the chords for that one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ebenezers permalink
    August 23, 2007 10:59 am

    Oh, so THAT”S what this Casting Crowns song is about! I’m sorry to admit that I quickly start resenting the songs that stations play over and over and over and over again before I really listen to the words. Wow, the third verse really hits me. I also appreciate the reminder that “I’m not holding on to You, but You’re holding on to me.” Why is that so hard for me to truly believe? This is a great song. If you hadn’t posted the lyrics, I probably would have continued tuning it out and never would have paid proper attention to the words. Now I’m actually looking forward to hearing it today … about twenty times. :)

  2. anakainosis permalink
    August 29, 2007 1:03 pm

    both songs are lyrical and stirring. while often times the posting of lyrics on blogs is sort of unimaginative, these are noteworthy examples of the miracle of music. i’m blessed.

    let’s get another game soon. i’m one away from getting that rating.

Leave a Reply

