Skip to content

Bob Newhart

August 11, 2007

I made allusion to this sketch in my sermon this morning at the Covenant Fellowship Church Servants’ Retreat.  This is for your entertainment, not your edification. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2007 10:51 pm

    I miss the old Bob Newhart shows. That and Carol Burnett.

    Thing 1 thought this was utterly hilarious and watched it about four times, laughing every time! ;-)

  2. August 13, 2007 1:00 pm

    You can watch all those shows now if you join one of those online rental deals. Katie and I watched three seasons of the old Bob Newhart shows recently. I admit to my embarrassment that it was instrumental in getting me to sign up for these counseling classes. We I told Katie that I had enrolled, her first response was to hum the Newhart theme song.

  3. August 14, 2007 10:33 pm

    Great skit. I too miss the old shows. This skit reminds me of Dr. Albert Mohler’s way of doing counseling. He said that he asks them the three questions:

    What’s wrong?
    What does scripture say about this?
    Why are we still here?

    BTW, our family uses Netflix to rent those old TV shows. We have purchased 4 of the 5 complete seasons of The Dick Van Dyke Show. It is a hoot. Classic physical comedy.

  4. Oddball permalink
    August 20, 2007 1:16 pm

    The original Bob Newhart and Mary Tyler Moore shows were both fabulous. My favorite, though, is still Barney Miller. I purchased the entire collection on VHS many years ago.

Leave a Reply

