Skip to content

Why Do Liberals Write Better Than Evangelicals?

August 8, 2007

Could it be that when you give yourself the freedom to say anything, you come up with pearls of wisdom amidst all the error?  Maybe the pressure of orthodoxy is good for pastors, but not so good for poets?

As I keep enjoying Anne Lamott, I continue to be baffled at how someone who is so wrong about so many things can still write words that stir my soul with love for Jesus.  Now that I have both oversold and undercut her, I hope you can still appreciate the following quote.  She is talking about the difficulty she has had forgiving her dead mother and why she has not yet scattered her ashes.

“So I left her in the closet for two years to stew in her own ashes, and I refused to be nice to her, and didn’t forgive her for being a terrified, furious, clinging, sucking maw of need and arrogance.  I suppose that sounds harsh.  I assumed Jesus wanted me to forgive her, but I also know he loves honesty and transparency.  I don’t think he was rolling his eyes impatiently at me while she was in the closet.  I don’t think much surprises him:  this is how we make important changes–barely, poorly, slowly.  And still, he raises his fist in triumph.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2007 9:24 am

    “This is how we make important changes–barely, poorly, slowly. And still, he raises his fist in triumph.”

    Anybody else as encouraged by that as I am? When I first read it at the campsite last week, I couldn’t resist putting my fist in the air.

  2. blondie permalink
    August 8, 2007 1:25 pm

    Yes! if I am able to make any change it is barely, poorly and slowly. I forgive slowly, I love others poorly, I offer my body to him as a sacrifice barely. And yet, he says there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. aaaahhh.

  3. gorfchild permalink
    August 8, 2007 1:29 pm

    Yeah, that’s really cool!

  4. August 13, 2007 1:31 pm

    Why DO liberals write better than evangelicals? It’s a question that has long bothered me. If we claim to be one with Christ, who created the whole idea and fact of creativity, why are we so lax in our writing? Why do “Christian” novels even exist, because the writing is not worth reading? It makes my soul happier in Christ to appreciate the God-given talent of an author who doesn’t agree with me on much of anything but who still writes stupendously.

  5. August 30, 2007 11:03 am

    Perhaps it’s that liberals are not afraid to say what is on their hearts – to be honest abou the struggle of being a sinful human and a redeemed saint at the same time. While evangelicals are afraid that if they are that honest, somebody might think they’ve lost their faith or turned their back on God altogether. The church as a whole has struggled with this for a very long time – and it’s turned off many a seeker, I’m sure…

  6. Marilyn Kok permalink
    September 3, 2007 9:48 am

    We are afraid, afraid of doubts, afraid that our weaknesses will reflect on Him badly, afraid that our dearest brothers and sisters will misunderstand and judge us, afraid that we will disappoint the One we are supposed to love…afraid on so many levels. That fear affects our writing. We write poorly because we write falsehoods, pretending that Christ makes life here as it should be rather than what it is. We write poorly because we don’t really believe He is doing and will do what He has promised. We write poorly because we don’t actually know our main character, the hero of our piece.

Leave a Reply

