Skip to content

Servanthood Oneupsmanship

August 4, 2007

During a Navigators summer training program that I attended as a college student, some of us invented a game by this name. We were being snarky and cynical. We were “making fun of that sort of thing”. Because, after all, if you are serving someone just to win a prize for the best servant, that’s not real servanthood, is it?

No, it isn’t. And yet the next phrase in our meditation through Romans 12:9-21 says this, “Outdo one another in showing honor.”

What if instead of dwelling upon every perceived insult to our honor we made it our ambition to show more honor to others than they show to us? What a wonderful fellowship would result!

This week I shared this thought on the second day of our vacation with our five kids who were sitting behind me in the mini-van. I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, “That didn’t work.” But, believe it or not, it did. I mean, they weren’t perfect, but they were extraordinarily good! Instead of fighting for the preferable seat, they actually raced to the back. They gave up final portions of food, choosing the pleasure of honoring their siblings over the pleasure of the biggest piece. I was astonished. They really got it.

Proverbs 15:16 is another verse that came to my mind during this vacation, “Better a meal of vegetables where there is love than a fattened calf with hatred.” So I say that camping in Prarie du Chien, WI with love is better than Yellowstone National Park with hatred. What makes a great vacation is not a great location but love. Well, love and good weather. Camping is only fun until it rains. But, hallelujah, we had perfect weather this year. I suppose I should say better is a rainy campsite with love than a dry hotel room with hatred, but I’m still way too unsanctified to say that with a straight face.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 3:17 pm

    rockin. This will be dinner conversation with the wife, and I hope to remember this one for my yungins someday.

Leave a Reply

