Skip to content

Study Leave, Part Deux

June 29, 2007

Most of you will not need this much information, but I find it a helpful bit of accountability to tell you all through this medium how I will be spending this second week of study leave.   I’m up at my in-laws in Oregon, IL right now.  Tomorrow I will take Joel, Patrick and Sam to a waterpark in Rockford.  Sunday I will drive Joel to camp at Timberlee in East Troy, WI and then drive to Austin, MN to visit with an old friend who is going through a divorce.  While he is at work Monday I will study and then hang out with him Monday evening.  Tuesday I drive back from Austin, MN to Oregon, IL and I spend Wednesday through Friday studying here at the Spring Valley Restaurant.  Saturday I return to Urbana to preach Psalm 146 on Sunday.

My first week of study leave went so well that I feel ready to preach Romans 9 in the fall.  So this week I have set some different goals

  1. I want to revive my Hebrew skills in preparation for teaching again at Urbana Theological Seminary this fall.  I will review my modern Hebrew, and I will read Jeremiah 33-45 in Hebrew.
  2. I will read Martyn Lloyd Jones’ sermons on the end of Romans 8 and I will finish reading a book about his preaching titled The Sacred Anointing.
  3. I will start and probably not finish a new book called Believers Baptism: Sign of the New Covenant in Christ edited by Tom Schreiner and Shawn Wright.

Thanks again for your prayers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

