Skip to content

The Hound of Heaven

June 27, 2007

This morning I read one of my favorite promises, Jeremiah 32:40, which I will here overtranslate:

I will make for them an everlasting covenant in which I will not turn back from pursuing after them to do good to them and I will put my fear into their hearts so that they will not turn away from me.

But we do keep turning away from him, don’t we?  So this promise doesn’t mean that he will make us perfect this side of the beatific vision, but it means that we will not ultimately turn away from him because every time we try he keeps pursuing us and doing good to us and keeping us coming back to him. 

Then I read this today in Mike Yaconelli’s book Messy Spirituality which I received as a gift in the mail from a past CEFC member who now lives in Germany and comments under the name of parvileo.  (Thank you!)

“Spirituality is not about competency; it is about intimacy.  Spirituality is not about perfection; it is about connection… Accepting the reality of our broken, flawed lives is the beginning of spirituality not because the spiritual life will remove our flaws but because we let go of seeking perfection and, instead, seek God….  Jesus is not repelled by us, no matter how messy we are…. When we recognize that Jesus…simply doggedly pursues us in the face of it all, what else can we do but give in to his outrageous, indiscriminate love? … No matter how hard I’ve tried I’ve never been able to shake him.  You won’t be able to shake him either.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    June 27, 2007 7:06 pm

    Imagine, being pursued doggedly by the Maker of the Universe! And with every step, his transforming power makes us more beautiful and delightful and capable of relationship with him.

    I can remember being hounded by a few boys in high school who liked me, but I did not reciprocate. Some were more persistent than others. Imagine if the most wonderfully brilliant, talented, handsome, gracious, winsome person in the whole school had been pursuing me instead. My behavior and attitude would have been sooooo very different.

    So it is a testimony to the stoooooooopidness of my fleshly heart and mind that I continue to run away from the best lover I’ve ever had.

    And how thankful I am that he never sleeps, he never gets tired, he changes me as he chases me, taking me into the desert and speaking kindly to me, wooing me again and again back to himself, for his great glory and my sweet satisfaction and joy.

    He deserves my unending worship and loyalty. Instead he gets only my half-hearted praise and my whoring idolatry, punctuated with occasional bouts of repentance and thankful, happy love. You can tell He’s not in it because he NEEDS anything from me.

    So thanks for the reminder of His steadfast love that endures forever.

Leave a Reply

