Skip to content

Blogging About More Than Us

June 23, 2007

40 bloggers have put together a collaborative 40 day fast for Compassion International.  Read Brant’s post today.  Tremendous.  When it comes to writing, dude’s got game.

Then read this post about how the fast works.  Anybody out there with some HTML skills and administrative gifts want to lead us in starting our own 40 day fast?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    June 25, 2007 12:02 pm

    I have no HTML skills or administrative gifts, but I would love to participate anyway…

    so here I am, waiting to be led…

    I guess the first thing to do is start praying that someone will look at themselves and find they have the desire AND the skills needed to lead us in a 40 day fast blog thing…

  2. June 25, 2007 12:26 pm

    I have no HTML skills, but reasonable administrative skills, and I would be happy to participate, so if someone has HTML skills and would like to cooperatively work on organizing it with me, I’d be game.

  3. egana permalink
    June 25, 2007 1:36 pm

    This actually prompted me to post on my own blog this morning…

    http://egana.wordpress.com/2007/06/25/40-day-fast-for-the-sake-of-the-hungry/

    my responses were too lengthy really for a comment here…

  4. June 25, 2007 3:14 pm

    I’m thinking the reason a few HTML skills might be necessary is that it would be nice if all the faster’s blogs were linked and presented in the order of their days and this would require a customized sidebar?

    If we’re going to do this we should seek to find 40 fasters and have the first day be August 1st. (Brant’s group ends July 31st.)

  5. egana permalink
    June 25, 2007 3:22 pm

    I’ll get Gorfy to talk about it in our small group. I know several of them “blog”…

    …to blog or not to blog, that is the question. Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to keep ones’ thoughts and opinions confined to the realm of ones’ actually friends and acquaintances, or to scatter tham whilly-nilly across thousands of mles of ethernet cable for the benefit of all…

  6. egana permalink
    June 25, 2007 3:23 pm

    ahem… that’s thousands of *miles* of ethernet cable… oops… darned typos…

  7. June 25, 2007 7:12 pm

    Yep, Isaiah543, that’s what I was thinking too. I have an unused WordPress blog which would work quite well for the 40 day fast, but despite all my efforts I have never been able to get the sidebar widgets to work. The only sidebar thing I have ever made work was the Flash Verse of the Day from BibleGateway, and I think that was some sort of…um…miracle. :) I’ll go try again. Maybe it will work for a good cause?

  8. Hanna permalink
    June 26, 2007 4:39 pm

    What about asking the guy who started the other one how he did it? The html to make the list is very straightforward, but not having experience with a blog, I’m not sure how to add things to the sidebar. It might differ based on the particular host.

  9. June 28, 2007 8:27 am

    w/in a wordpress blog, all we would need to do is add another links section and type in the blog names and URLs, right?

    add me to the list if you would.

Leave a Reply

