Skip to content

Laugh or Scream? I Vote Laugh.

May 29, 2007

Some of you may remember that last June the Southern Baptist Convention passed a resolution against the moderate use of alcohol.   I commented here.  This year some Baptists have submitted this resolution and this resolution.   Forget Spiderman 3 and Harry Potter 5.  If I could just get tickets to sit in the peanut gallery and watch ’em squirm, I’d have all my entertainment needs met for the rest of the summer.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2007 2:24 pm

    Yea, you know, I’ll take our hammering out the SoF over these resolutions any time. Glad to not be SBC, good to be Ev Free! Hey, that rhymes!

  2. May 29, 2007 3:15 pm

    Wow, wow, wow. My friends and I have had this discussion before, but none of us was prepared to bring it before the church. Now I know the language we’ll use if we ever do.

  3. May 29, 2007 7:37 pm

    I’m still waiting for them to argue for total abstenance from sex since so many people have problems with adultery, promiscuity, addiction…

    Seriously (sort of), it is like they want to self-destruct. They are devouring themselves.

  4. egana permalink
    June 1, 2007 9:22 pm

    How do resolutions in a church governing document pursuade poeple to delight themselves in Jesus instead of in merely earthly pleasures. I don’t understand what these resolutions and rules are supposed to accomplish for the soul. If the soul is truly “wayward” then a resolution is not going to bring it back.

    I know I am probably exposing my ignorance of denomination government and how that works out into congregations, but I am truly confused…

  5. June 2, 2007 7:11 am

    The “On gluttony” resolution is a parody of the alcohol resolution they passed last year, but you’re right about its impotence. The one on membership is serious and is a good idea, encouraging churches to pursue these missing members.

  6. egana permalink
    June 2, 2007 7:38 pm

    ah-ha! *feeling rather foolish*

    I guess I didn’t get the parody. It sounded so much exactly as rediculous as the alcohol one, I thought it was the next inevitable phase. Thanks for the clarification.

    I remember the membership one from last year.

  7. martian koolaid permalink
    June 3, 2007 2:25 pm

    Seems to be only with Southern baptists. This afternoon I picnicced (spelling?) with some French evangelical baptists. I went with this girl to buy some quick groceries, and I asked if it was OK to bring wine to drink. Before I knew it, the bottle was empty.

Leave a Reply

