Skip to content

I Was Wrong (Part 2 in an ongoing series)

April 1, 2007

I am seized with remorse and I want publicly to apologize for how I have led so many astray by advocating the moderate use of alcoholic beverages.  This was foolish.  Alcohol is a terrible evil and leads millions astray and it has been selfish and careless of me to suggest that it could be within the bounds of Christian liberty.  Please forgive me for my bad example and follow this link to see the argument that showed me my grievous error.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2007 9:45 am

    lol. I’m glad you’ve repented, because, according to that legalistic hermanuetically retarded self-righteous tract – you’re in deep… well, you know.

    It’s not really worth debunking since it’s so absurd, and responding seriously would actually lend the tract credibility (which I’m guessing is why you’ve answered it the way you did.) But btw, Dr. Samuele Bacchiocchi, whom the tract mentions, is a seventh day adventist scholar. Not sure if the “7th day” folks are responsible for this rag.

  2. April 1, 2007 4:23 pm

    Hmm . . . they missed a couple of references ;-) The in-laws gave the kids some ‘Sugar Creek Gang’ books for Christmas and the Husband was reading them with the kids in the evening until he couldn’t take it anymore. They regularly denounce alcohol as an abhorrent evil, making a man into a lazy bum who is incapable of feeding his family and taking care of his responsibilities.

    After reading a few of those, the kids freaked when I brought home a package of wine coolers — AAAGGGHH!! MOM! You’re going to get DRUNK??!!??!! The Husband and I laughed hysterically at the looks on their faces — it’s the end of life as we know it. Mom’s going to be half-asleep on the sofa, staggering through the day, when she isn’t gambling or stealing. Legalism is far more deadly than license.

  3. April 1, 2007 7:44 pm

    you are no longer fit for ministry at our church.

  4. April 1, 2007 9:14 pm

    You kind of had me freaked out there for a minute.

    Happy April Fools Day, Isaiah543. :)

  5. April 1, 2007 9:25 pm

    By the way, great sermon today. I like that you left the possibility of anarchy open.

  6. April 1, 2007 10:07 pm

    Happy April Fool’s Day indeed. My “favorite” part of the linked article on teetotaling was the first sentence:

    In the 1800’s and early 1900’s the church in America took a bold stand for total abstinence. People read research about the word “wine;” Bible studies showed the truth about alcohol. The result was Prohibition with its great benefits.

    Ah yes, the great benefits of Prohibition.

    Then he wrote, “The Bible is the same “yesterday, today, and forever.” What godly Bible teachers said in the past is true today. ”

    Is the author aware there even exists a “past” more distant than the 1880s? Would he be surprised to find that godly men wrote on the subject before this? And does he know that there’s even history in other countries?

  7. April 1, 2007 10:09 pm

    If you like April Fools pranks, you might like this link:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yale%27s_%22We_Suck%22_Prank

    It didn’t happen on April Fools day, but what a genius prank!

  8. April 2, 2007 12:55 am

    Prank? I thought you were serious. I was going to go to the elder board tomorrow with a mob of pitchforks and torches calling for your censure.

  9. blondie permalink
    April 2, 2007 2:19 pm

    You have successfully scared the hell out of me today!

  10. April 2, 2007 9:20 pm

    Tonight the little girl wanted some Mike’s Hard Berry (one of the few things the wife will drink w/alcohol). I had to explain to her that it was not little girl appropriate, just like her goat’s milk is not daddy appropriate. she wasn’t convinced.

  11. April 2, 2007 10:33 pm

    Goat’s milk? I like goat cheese, but I’m not sure about goat’s milk. I had yak butter tea once. That was enough. Unless you can ferment it, I probably won’t try it again.

  12. April 3, 2007 11:51 am

    But you’d try anything fermented though… ;)

  13. Heather/Mothergrace permalink
    April 3, 2007 8:25 pm

    “Deacons’ wives are to be temperate and sober.”

    Nothing said about elder’s wives, phew, that was a close one!

  14. Oddball permalink
    April 9, 2007 11:45 pm

    Wasn’t the other twin pillar of American fundamentalism – dispensationalism – also revealed by God in the 1800s?

  15. egana permalink
    April 25, 2007 8:41 pm

    yikes!

    I leave the blogoshpere for a few months, and my trusty pastor goes bonkers!

    I am so glad that was a joke, seeing as I am reading this on April 25, and was not thinking for ONE MINUTE about April Fools, I was looking for pod people or aliens or something…

Leave a Reply

