Skip to content

Go to Bed!

March 14, 2007

The reason my posts have been fewer and farther between lately is that some of the time I used to spend blogging is now being spent reading and writing for a distance ed class called “Dynamics of Biblical Change” taught by David Powlison and offered by CCEF.

One of our assignments is a “self-counseling project” and I have decided to address the problem of my night owl escapism.   I am convinced that I and my significant others would be much happier if I would just get more sleep, and yet I persist in staying up too late blogging or playing video games.  The more I analyze this behavior the more impenetrably irrational it appears.

Is it that I am taking refuge in entertainment rather than taking refuge in God?  I believe that many of my sins originated in just this way.  But I’m not sure that’s really what’s going on anymore.  When there is increased stress in my life, the moronic behavior actually decreases.  By God’s grace, I actually do take refuge in Him in times of trouble. 

But on your run of the mill days, I binge on escapist comforts.  I’m coming to the conclusion that there is a more horizontal explanation.   I like to be comfortable.  I like to be entertained.  So do you.  There’s nothing wrong with that.  The problem is that I love my comfort more than I love other people.    I’m less “all there” for my family in the morning because I have binged on entertainment in the evening.  

So now I pray, “Lord give me a love for other people that will overcome my love for my own comfort.”

More to come soon.  Maybe I’ll make this “The Love Blog” for a while.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2007 7:42 pm

    I, too, am a night owl but married to an early bird.

    Knowing my compulsive personality, I avoid video games. But I’ve been known to surf the net and the tube mindlessly instead of going to bed at a reasonable hour.
    You’ll have to let me know how the course is. I’d like to use some of the discipleship materials too.

  2. March 15, 2007 12:41 am

    Entertainingly, I’m reading this at 11:40 at night, though my poor husband went to bed before 9. But I’m definitely guilty as charged…

  3. March 15, 2007 6:30 am

    Also entertaining: I’ve received two spam comments on this post from sellers of bedding. Maybe that’s the ultimate answer. Get a really great mattress.

  4. March 15, 2007 8:54 am

    I’m guilty of this as well. My mom says I was like this from quite early in life. I’ve always thought it was part of my introversion — it’s only after they go to bed that you can escape the presence of some people and have some time alone. As a kid I used to sit in my bedroom with a lamp or flashlight and read until the wee hours, now I sit at the computer. If I don’t get that mental space, I find I’m not much more loving to my family than I am when sleep deprived.

  5. March 15, 2007 10:45 am

    I too have been like this since very early in life. Introversion may explain a lot of it, but it doesn’t explain it all for me anymore, because in my “line of work” I actually get quite a lot of time for undisturbed mental processing. (Perhaps for most pastors this isn’t true in these purpose driven days. Many pastors probably have difficulty being left alone in their buzzing offices. Poor souls. But I have a few coffee and/or scotch dispensing hideouts around town where I can read for hours at a time. Ahhhhh!)

    So I can’t blame my habit on my introversion. I’m just greedy for more and stubborn about it. But I did get to sleep by 11:30 last night. Praise the Lord! Revival is coming!

  6. March 16, 2007 1:10 am

    I’m reading this at 1:10 A.M. I rebuke all of you and blame John for it.
    Nite nite ;)

  7. Heather/Mothergrace permalink
    March 16, 2007 1:28 pm

    Where can I find the article on “Bed Time Guilt”, again? The one with the line.
    “You need to try harder. You need to go to bed earlier.” LOL

    Heather

Leave a Reply

