Skip to content

D4R

March 9, 2007

Last year it was T4G, Together for the Gospel.  This year John MacArthur has managed to turn his Shepherd’s Conference into D4R, Divided for the Rapture.   Now John MacArthur is a godly man and will have more crowns in heaven than I, but this was, IMHO, a boneheaded move.  

I also have to wonder if his remarks weren’t motivated by a desire to respond to the EFCA’s discussion about removing premillennialism from our statement of faith.  I will be very sad if this message from MacArthur galvanizes the dispensationalists in our movement so that they take their toys and go home rather than live with a new SOF.

Read what I’m talking about here.

HT: Cavman (again).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2007 11:47 pm

    I know that MacArthur’s message was about the millennium, not the rapture. But the harsh criticisms he made of amillennialists hermeneutics would apply to historic premillennialist like myself as well.

  2. March 10, 2007 3:48 pm

    I hope the audio or some transcripts come out that could clear this issue up a bit. Challies clearly admits his recounting of the talk was rushed at best.

    I agree though that this is bad news “if this message from MacArthur galvanizes the dispensationalists in our movement so that they take their toys and go home rather than live with a new SOF.”

    But would it really have this effect? Macarthur’s arguement was that a calvinistic soteriology is not consistant with other eschatological flavors, and I thought dispensationalists are a hogdepodge of calvinists and arminians? Certainly there is a spread in the EFCA of varieties of premil folks as well as a spread in soteriology. You know a lot more about that than I do.

  3. March 10, 2007 4:34 pm

    The connection MacArthur is trying to make b/w monergism and premillenialism doesn’t exist, IMO. Yes, dispensationalists in our movement are a hodgepodge of Calvinists and Arminians. But they are united in the belief that non-dispensationalism comes from liberal hermeneutics. Therefore, giving up premillenialism is the liberal camel’s nose in the tent. I think this is a ridiculous accusation to make against our good reformed a-mil brothers like Sproul, but I fear that MacArthur’s message will reaffirm their fears.

  4. March 10, 2007 7:31 pm

    I will soon be going thru Romans 9-11 in response to his message and show how amil views are thoroughly consistent with Calvinism, and a bit of a trouble spot for dispensationalism in chapter 11. I’ll have some time while the wife is at the beach.

  5. March 12, 2007 11:13 pm

    Good grief. I love Johnny Mac as well but … man … this was a bit silly.
    I am in the process of re-examining my eschatology in light of Scripture and
    am quite happy to announce that I am in the optimistic amil camp.

    I don’t think he advanced the cause of exegetical forthrightness by this.

  6. blondie permalink
    March 13, 2007 8:21 am

    Has this become a common response? To “take their toys and go home rather than live with a new SOF”? My dad’s church in Iowa had a huge exodus because of this very thing. ( A non-denominational bible church which had in their SOF pretrib/premil or go somewhere else.) They took it out to allow for other viewpoints and 250 people left because they could not live with that decision and went somewhere else! Most of them went to a GRBC church which still has the flavor of end times that they are comfortable with.

    What a divisive issue! Is the gospel at stake here and I don’t see that it is in jeopardy? When I sing songs of Christ’s return there is no longer a pre-trib viewpoint in my thinking, I don’t understand why that is so threatening. I’m not lost, I’m just looking forward to whenever that day will be! Oh Jesus come quick and silence these divisive issues in the hearts of your people!

Leave a Reply

