Skip to content

I Was Wrong

February 7, 2007

For years I’ve been saying something like this:  “Our mission is not to reach Champaign-Urbana for Christ, our mission is to reach the world for Christ by sending out laborers from Champaign-Urbana.”

I’m ready to recant.

I don’t want to de-emphasize sending out laborers to unreached people groups.  But I want to start doing more flag-waving for service to this community because I’ve finally been existentially gripped by something I’ve intellectually affirmed for years:  We are on the mission field.  

What did it for me was hearing about the size and the strength of African Christianity.   In terms of spiritual leadership, we need them more than they need us.   They think of us the way we think of France.  That is, as one of the most resistant mission fields in the world. 

So that makes me an indigenous pastor to a hard to reach people group.  Now if I were a Chinese pastor in Shanghai, I wouldn’t be telling my congregation that our mission is not to reach Shanghai for Christ, but to reach the world for Christ by sending out laborers from Shanghai.  Of course, God will call some believers from a church in Shanghai to cross-cultural ministry.  But surely that wouldn’t diminish the passion to see the gospel spread through the city of Shanghai.

So let us devote ourselves to hospitality and to good works that bless this city and may our neighbors see it and glorify our Father in heaven. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2007 11:48 am

    Hooray.

    Not a frustrated missionary – just a missionary. :)

    Not that I’m surprised, but you had to get a dig in on France, didn’t you?

  2. February 7, 2007 1:05 pm

    I so appreciate this church, in case I haven’t said that recently. :)

    What’s up with France? I am in the dark here.

  3. February 15, 2007 1:55 pm

    [My laptop has been out of commission for three weeks! Finally got it fixed by Toshiba for free as they extended my warranty due to the defect in the motherboard.]

    Here is a great sermon on missions, actually two of them… the first speaks about the new paradigm of missions that you should find very interesting and is related to this topic.

    The Emerging Paradigm in Missions – Erroll Hulse
    [audio src="http://www.wordmp3.com/mp3dl/FIRE/2006/2006_FIRE-Paradigm_Missions-Hulse.mp3" /]

    And this one is tremendous ….

    Isaiah 6: The Triumph of Grace – James Grier
    [audio src="http://www.wordmp3.com/mp3dl/FIRE/2006/2006_FIRE-Triumph_of_Grace-Grier.mp3" /]

    Enjoy :)

    Eddie

Leave a Reply

