Skip to content

Tag, you’re It.

January 16, 2007

I’ve been tagged by my virtual friend Cavman to answer some questions.  I’m going to answer the ones I want to answer and then tag one of you…

1) What’s the most fun work you’ve ever done?

Work, huh?  Vacations don’t count.   Well then I guess the most fun I’ve had working was preaching sermons of encouragement from 2 Corinthians to some missionaries at a resort in Antalya, Turkey.

2) Name one thing you did in the past that you no longer do but wish you did. 

Pipe smoking.  I can’t do it anymore because of my asthma.  But of all my many vices, this one was the most profitable.   I would sit and read and read and read without getting fidgety.

3) If you could be apprenticed by anyone in the world living or dead, who would it be and what would you hope to learn?

Tim Keller. I would hope to learn how to be a loving evangelist.

4)  List two words that you wish were more accurate descriptions of you.

Selfless, compassionate.

5) What are your top three passions? 

This is a hard question for me to answer right now.  I used to be very passionate about many things.  “Intense” was a word that my friends used to describe me.   This was both good and bad.  Maybe more bad than good.   Lately I’ve been a lot less intense.  So I guess this is more good than bad. 

I think I can say I am most passionate about the gospel.  I love studying Romans every week and being amazed at how revolutionary the gospel is.  I recently listened to a Tim Keller sermon on the prodigal sons which refueled my passion.   There’s younger brother lostness and there’s older brother lostness and then there’s the gospel.  

I’m also passionate about Hebrew, but not as much as I used to be.   My ambition to be a scholar is finally dead and I am so much happier because of it.   But I still love reading the Hebrew Bible, especially the psalms, and teaching elementary Hebrew.

My third passion is White Sox baseball.   Which means my third passion really is hating Cubs baseball.  But now that’s morphed from passionate hatred into smug condescension since we’ve won the World Series.

6) Write a new question with which to tag the next person:

What would you do for your next vacation if money were no object?

And now, who to tag?  In an effort to drag him kicking and screaming back into the blogosphere, I tag Gorfchild.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 17, 2007 10:19 am

    Can I play even if I wasn’t tagged?

    1) What’s the most fun work you’ve ever done?

    I think getting paid to go swimming with first graders was pretty good. Although it’s a tough call between that and going backpacking with highschoolers. But the elementary school kids are a little less stressful, I guess. And swimming is a little more recreational than backpacking. Minorly.

    2) Name one thing you did in the past that you no longer do but wish you did.

    I wish I could go on campouts with all my friends again :/ I miss that. And, the thing is is that they’re still in town, but they’re all too busy being grownups now to go have fun for a weekend. That stinks.

    3) If you could be apprenticed by anyone in the world living or dead, who would it be and what would you hope to learn?

    I’d like to hang out with Elizabeth and Zechariah. I’m sure they would both have some excellent teachings on patience.

    4) List two words that you wish were more accurate descriptions of you.

    Christlike and trusting.

    5) What are your top three passions?

    Gosh… I don’t know :)

    I would probably put God’s creation at the top of the list, whether it’s through recreation or environmentalism or whatever, but I like it, a lot! If it were up to me, I’d go hang out in the mountains all the time :)

    I think I’m also pretty passionate about my entertainment. I like movies and TV shows and books. You could probably separate the latter into its own category, but they’re all forms of entertainment, I suppose.

    And last, I don’t even know :) I spend a lot of time thinking a lot about a lot of different beliefs I hold pretty deeply. Any one of them could be counted as a passion. I’m passionate about adoption, and racism, and volunteerism, and community, and traveling… that list could go on and on. So maybe I should just say that I’m passionate about my opinions?

    6) Write a new question with which to tag the next person:

    What would you do for your next vacation if money were no object?

    I’d go to Alaska and never come back :) Or Montana. Or New Zealand. All excellent options. And I’d probably spend a lot of time reading and engaging in various outdoor recreational pursuits. Let’s face it, I’d probably build a yurt :)

Leave a Reply

