Skip to content

Missions and Masturbation

January 8, 2007

Piper hits another home run at last week’s Passion conference.  

Read it here.   

10 Comments leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    January 8, 2007 10:41 am

    eye-catching title…

  2. Reepicheep permalink
    January 8, 2007 11:21 am

    The potential search hits boggle the imagination!

  3. January 8, 2007 12:41 pm

    Wow. Piper hits a home-run.

  4. January 8, 2007 12:52 pm

    Y’know, the more I think about this sermon the less I like it.

    For the person who is immoblized with guilt over lust, Piper, as always, articulately and passionately provides the gospel answer.

    But might there be a danger that he at the same time creates guilt over not being a missionary? Or over all the countless sins of omission that result in our lives being lived less than wholly for the glory of God?

    I think that some of what passes for a desire to “impact the world for Christ” is selfish ambition and anxious striving.

    I also know that laying down that ambition and being content with my calling has been a big part of the process of overcoming lust in my own life. I’ve never found the whole “Don’t Waste Your Life” edge of Piper’s ministry all that helpful.

  5. egana permalink
    January 8, 2007 1:49 pm

    “laying down that ambition and being content” is where I am at right now.. Many different complications have arisen that make it doubtful that we would be good candidates for missions work. I am so grieved and disappointed… and I do feel as though if I stay here I will be wasting my life…

  6. January 8, 2007 3:52 pm

    I too was providentially hindered from following my dream to be a missionary. I spent some time in India in the summer of 91 and 92, and intended to go back with Katie for good, but pregnancy complications and other things too complicated to detail here forced me to put a bullet in the head of my dream.

    But I noticed some years later that the verse that I believed God had used to call me to missions, the verse that is now my internet moniker, Isaiah 54:3, says that your _descendants_ shall dispossess the nations, not you.

    So, Egana, there are many reasons why you are not wasting your life, but one of them is that you are seeking with the Lord’s help to raise godly offspring. Who knows what God might do through them? Remember Lois and Eunice in 2 Tim 1. The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world.

    And, like I said, there are many other things you can do right here that won’t be a waste of your life.

  7. egana permalink
    January 8, 2007 7:54 pm

    I KNOW you are right…. I would say the same thing to me… heck, I DO say those things to me… *snicker*

    but right here seems so dull and monotonous and “American”, and “going somewhere for Jesus” sounds so risky and exciting and “International.”

    The desire for risk and variety dies only kicking and screaming, as far as I can tell, so I keep telling myself true things, and surround myself with people who do the same, and follow the Lord wherever He leadeth me. He may bless me with a quiet, happy life. And that would be no bad thing. In fact, it would be a really great thing.

    But a big part of me still wants a loud, difficult, risky, exciting thing.

    People with ulcers crave coffee and pizza, amputees long to run or fling themselves out of airplanes…

    hmmm… as I explored the feeling I was trying to describe, the Lord corrected me in my faulty, guilt-ridden, anxious thinking. Ahhh… waht a good God we have!

    I am not my own. He is my master, and I am His happy servant. No one can pluck me out of His hand, and in his hand is a good place to be. I have often cowered in I fear of the implied judegement of those who appear very zealous for missions: what are YOU doing for the Lord?

    “nuthin” I whine miserably…

    But no more. They would have no authority over another *person’s* servant, to question his actions. How then do they presume to interfere with a servant of *God* fulfilling her appointed tasks? At this moment, I am more confidant than ever that my God has put me here, and here I will remain, until HE puts me somewhere else. If they challenge His authority to keep me here for His pruposes, my joy, and the up-building of His church, they had better take it up with Him.

    And I had better stop listening to them, or fearing them, and get on with the happy tasks my Lord and Master and sweet Father has given me. Like’s He’s gonna make a mistake, or something? yeah right!

    What a waste of time and energy fear is. What a blessing the immediacy of the Holy Spirit’s ministry is. He takes of what it Christ’s and makes it known to us. Ahhhh…..

  8. blondie permalink
    January 9, 2007 5:54 pm

    I’ve read Piper’s book “Don’t Waste Your Life” and found it helpful. My call as a mom is my vocation. He does not call into question the current “jobs” that people have. He does say whatever your vocation in life, make it count for Christ. When you are working, God is with you. There are countless ways that I can and do ignore God during the course of my work day. “Making Much of Christ from 8 to 5” was a chapter that did not fill me with guilt, but instead made me think about who I interact with on a daily basis, and ponder how I can make much of Christ with those people. “Whatever you do whether in word or deed do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the father through him.” Colossians 3:17 is an example of what came to mind as I was reading his book. (Most likely he quotes that in there.)

    As far as igniting a passion for missions, I hope he does ignite it in the hearts of many people. And how freeing it is to hear that our sin does not disqualify us from having a part of what God is doing in our world. I too thought I would be on the mission field. From the 4th grade through college I told people I would be a missionary. My heart breaks for the lost who have not heard the word of God and yet, God has kept me here. Yes, some will mistake Piper’s words, but others will find God speak to them through his message.

    I still like Piper’s message, it does not invoke guilt in me, many other things do, but not that. Being content in my call has not come easy. I fight against it too often. Maybe, just maybe, this is an indication of some victory for me, in that these messages of his don’t do that “guilt thing” in me.

  9. January 9, 2007 8:50 pm

    Mike knows I like that zealous edge of Piper’s ministry. But I think there is a time, place, and person for that kind of “get down and give me 20” kind of preaching.

    Lately I’ve been listening to Tim Keller. His preaching knocks my socks off just like Piper’s, but he sounds like he’s at my dinner table or chatting over tea. He’s the other kind of guy, and we need them both.

  10. January 16, 2007 10:00 pm

    Sort of like the Paul & Barnabas thing. They made a great team, as two very different men- one bold, one tender. Both have their place. Gotta love God.

Leave a Reply

