Skip to content

Ha Humbug

December 15, 2006

The Puritans were not only against icons.   Many of them were also rabidly opposed to celebrating the Popish Christ-Mass.   Here’s some examples of Reformed Christmas carols.  (If you are offended, please remember that these are supposed to be funny, and please read to the end for a balancing view…)

“Banish Christmas” (to the tune of “The Christmas Song”) 

Servetus roasting in an open fire
John Knox preaching where he can
Calvin teaching against every sin
The folk all look so Puritan.
Everybody knows idolatry is wickedness
for papist, Protestant or Jew.
Though some people say,
They got carried away
Banish Christmas here, too!

No Christmas (to the tune of “White Christmas”)

 I’m dreaming there’ll be no Christmas
Just like those Scottish days of yore
When the people listened
Reformed truth glistened
And they laid low the Romish whore.
I’m dreaming there’ll be no Christmas
And that the truth will be revived
May God’s people follow His light
And put out this superstitious rite.

Now for a balancing view, I commend to you this article by Steve Brown, the most gracious Calvinist I know.  It’s quite long, so in case you don’t read it, I’ll tell you that he basically says the only thing worse than the materialism of Christmas is ungracious killjoy pastors ruining everybody’s fun.

One Comment leave one →
  1. blondie permalink
    December 16, 2006 5:09 am

    That’s some article.

    I’ve tried to sustain a bah humbug attitude about Christmas this year and have not succeeded. God changed my heart, not to love Christmas, but to love and want him. O Come O Come Emmanuel has been my song of the month. I love to sing the words. I want Jesus to come and change my mind, my heart, my thoughts and make my days honor him and not me. So, it happens to be Christmas season and not Springtime, and God is affecting my heart. It matters not to me which time of year God changes me, but I bet my kids are happy that I am happy this month. I’m sure they will be delighted that Mom finally got into the “Christmas Spirit”.

    What am I saying? I am happy that God pursues me and happy that in the midst of the Christmas hymns I find him.

Leave a Reply

