Skip to content

Chicks Dig Poems

November 3, 2006

Since I’m feeling particularly in love with my wife this morning, I thought I’d post a couple of her favorite poems.  (I like ’em too)

The Orange

At lunchtime I bought a huge orange–
The size of it made us all laugh.
I peeled it and shared it wth Robert and Dave–
They got quarters and I had a half.

And that orange, it made me so happy,
As ordinary things often do
Just lately.  The shopping.  A walk in the park.
This is peace and contentment.  It’s new.

The rest of the day was quite easy.
I did all the jobs on my list
And enjoyed them and had some time over.
I love you.  I’m glad I exist.

     -Wendy Cope

To A Frustrated Poet

This is to say

I know

You wish you were in the woods,

Living the poet life,

Not here at a formica topped table

In a meeting about perceived inequalities in the benefits and allowances offered to employees of this college,

And I too wish you were in the woods,

Because it’s no fun having a frustrated poet

In the Dept. of Human Resources, believe me.

In the poems of yours that I’ve read, you seem ever intelligent and decent and patient in a way

Not evident to us in this office,

And so, knowing how poets can make a feast out of trouble,

Raising flowers in a bed of drunkenness, divorce, despair,

I give you this check representing two weeks’ wages

And ask you to clean out your desk today

And go home

And write a poem

With a real frog in it

And plums from the refrigerator,

So sweet and so cold.

      -R.J. Ellmann

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2006 9:58 am

    As one who is poetically challenged, I can tell you that I have only recently learned that a poem is best enjoyed if you read it twice and you read it out loud.

  2. November 3, 2006 10:42 am

    Well said!

    These poems are fun! Thanks!

  3. November 3, 2006 10:42 am

    It’s good to hear you say you love your wife. ;-) Poetry comes right after sound theology for winning a woman’s heart, right?

    I *love* “To A Frustrated Poet” — thanks for sharing those today!

  4. November 3, 2006 11:05 am

    I like them.

  5. November 3, 2006 12:29 pm

    One of my favorite books is a collection of poems put out by some Oxford scholars that organizes poems according to their Scriptural allusions. It’s called Chapters into Verse. It’s nice for Bible study. some other poems that I like are Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Coleridge and the Hollow Men by Eliot. The Hollow Men are especially relevant now since we were talking about Postmodernism a couple of weeks ago.

  6. November 3, 2006 2:08 pm

    Poetry comes right after sound theology for winning a woman’s heart, right?

    Let’s hope so!

    Thanks for sharing those Mike. :)

  7. November 3, 2006 2:58 pm

    I like a lot of T.S. Eliot. He ticks me off though when I get four pages into one of his poems and then he breaks into a whole page of untranslated French or Latin. Jerk.

    I can recommend his “Choruses from the Rock” for its Christian themes. And, of course, Prufrock is great but little Christianity to be found in it.

    I’ll have to check out the Coleridge poem and the Chapters into Verse book.

  8. November 3, 2006 3:21 pm

    I like these poems…. but not T.S. Eliot. Too abstract :P I much prefer Robert Frost. Or a good round of Neruda (speaking of abstract, and ways to win women’s hearts)… Byron’s pretty good, too. And you can’t beat Chaucer. In olde English. I’m such a nerd.

  9. November 3, 2006 3:22 pm

    I guess Neruda should have been instead “speaking of abstract, foreign language and ways to win women’s hearts.”

  10. November 3, 2006 3:30 pm

    I like writing poems as gifts. Most family members aren’t in need of something and so rather than giving them some junk for thier closet, I try (key word ‘try’) to give them something meaningful in verse.

    (Is this too random? I’m not trying to be a troll, really.)

  11. egana permalink
    November 3, 2006 8:40 pm

    mark: we know you’re not a troll…

    …heh…

    …cause your a toadie!

  12. egana permalink
    November 3, 2006 8:43 pm

    I think chicks dig happy husbands… and getting to share poetry with that happy husband is like yummy orange cream-cheese icing on top of an unctious, spicy carrot cake…

    Gorf has been reading those “valley of Vision” verses to me at night occasionally… yum!

Leave a Reply

