Skip to content

Tim Keller on Revival

October 4, 2006

This was the highlight of the Desiring God National Conference for me.  Tim Keller (pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian in Manhattan) began his lecture by making the point that the gospel is not just the introduction to Christianity.  All theology, in fact, is exposition of the gospel.

Then he shared a great illustration that he actually stole from his wife.  You put some coins into a Coke machine and push the button.  Nothing happens.  Why not?  The coins haven’t dropped yet.  They are stuck somewhere in the top of the machine.  So you smack the machine a little until you hear the coins drop.  Then the machine produces the product. 

This is a picture of where most of us are at as Christians.  We’re like the Coke machine. The gospel is in us.  The coins have been inserted.  But we don’t really get it yet.  The coins still haven’t dropped.  Therefore we’re not bearing the fruit of loving gospel witness. 

Revival is when the coins drop for a whole lot of people at the same time. 

Tomorrow I’ll share my initial thoughts on what CEFC needs to do to be a missional church.  But today I ask you to pray for the most important thing.  Pray that as we spend a couple more years in the book of Romans, the coins will drop for many.

Here’s a link where you can download and/or listen to Tim Keller’s message.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2006 12:39 pm

    hehe. In Australia they have a phrase (or at least in the 80s they did, don’t know if it’s still used), ‘the penny drops’, which is the equivalent of ‘aha!’ or ‘oh, *now* I get it! (or she gets it)’ It’s still in my vocabulary from my infatuation with all things Oz.

    It’s good to be reminded to pray for our church body that the Holy Spirit would be working as you ‘smack us’ with Romans. Lots of pennies dropping . . . mmm!

    Just so long as you don’t start a ‘Holy Smacking’ fad (like the Holy Laughter thing a few years ago) by giving us a thump upside the head each Sunday :-)

  2. October 4, 2006 12:54 pm

    Aha! Keller actually said “pennies” instead of “coins” and I wondered why since Coke machines don’t take pennies. Now I get it!

  3. October 4, 2006 2:37 pm

    I’m glad the pennies dropped for you on ‘penny dropping’, Mike.

  4. October 4, 2006 10:24 pm

    I agree with isaiah543. Although the entire conference was challenging and fascinating, it was the Keller stuff that really blew my doors off.

    I like having my doors blown off periodically, so this has been great! Even though I haven’t really thought things completely through yet, I just had to talk to people about it, so I subjected my small group to a summary on Monday night. Happily, they seemed genuinely interested.

    So I’m excited to see where this will go!

  5. October 4, 2006 10:31 pm

    Just so long as you don’t start a ‘Holy Smacking’ fad (like the Holy Laughter thing a few years ago) by giving us a thump upside the head each Sunday :-)

    I don’t know… sometimes the sermons make my head hurt. It’s kind of like a holy smackdown ;)

  6. Egana permalink
    October 8, 2006 4:03 pm

    I don’t hink Da Pasta does the smacking.. I think it is the lord God himself… probably in conjunction with trials and tribulations… yippie!

    Actually, Gorf brought this one home with him, and I have listened to it several times this week. It IS AWESOME!

    one of my favorite parts is where he talks about loving your neighbors, and then verbalizing that most of us don’t like our neighbors very much…

    it is God’s Spirit at work in me making me love my neighbors that testifies to His power in my life…

    Also, he talked about the “Christ-haunted people” and I said YEAH! that’s a good way to describe it… they are innoculated, and so they think they know Jesus, and the He has nothing good to offer them… all they remember is the bad stuff they heard (or still hear) about the religious people… it takes a long long long long long time to make a relationship with someone who is constantly expecting you to do some “freaky Christian thing” and affirm all that they remember and fear about religion.

    A really long time… It’s as though they ahve to see you walking with him for year, thorugh all sorts of hardships, before they stop looking for the AMWAY sales pitch behind the smile and the hospitality…

    For those of you who don’t know whta the heck I am talking about, go listen to his talk online, or come over and I’ll sit down and listen with you over a cup of tea or some other tasty brew… yummmmmy…

Leave a Reply

