Skip to content

What Think You of the Emerging Missional Church?

September 4, 2006

You don’t know?  You really should, ’cause you’re in one!

I urge you to set aside an hour, get on a computer with Quick Time and a broadband connection, and do the following homework.

1) Watch the videos on this page.  I’m going to this conference at the end of the month.  Note especially the videos called “Seeker vs. Missional” by Mark Driscoll, and “Emergent vs. Traditional vs. Seeker” by David Wells.

2) Listen to this sermon from Fall 1997.

3) Come back here and tell us if you think we’re an emerging missional church and how you feel about it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2006 9:23 am

    I’m sad that I can’t go to the conference. :(

    I’m glad we are an emerging missional church.

  2. September 5, 2006 12:26 pm

    Ok, I listened to several of the videos – including the ones you mentioned. I was a bit confused by David Wells in “Emergent vs. Traditional and Seeker.” I appreciated what he had to say but was confused as to whether he was critcising, agreeing with, or just giving an overall critique/description of the emergent movement? Also, I was wondering what PostModerism has to do with all of this. I don’t exactly know what PostModernism is, can someone explain it to me. I did appreciate listening to the sermon again. I love having all of them online!! From the definitions in the videos I think we are and “emerging missional church. I think maybe we need reminding of that. I know that I did. Sometimes it’s easy to get jealous of churches that have all sorts of programs that look really fun and useful. I needed to be reminded that I am a missionary to my neighbors, the Rick’s grad students when they come over, to all the unbelievers I meet and have contact with – I am called to pray for and love them. Again, I needed to be reminded of that.

  3. September 5, 2006 1:53 pm

    I think that Wells is siding with emerging critiques of seeker churches, while criticizing the postmodern theology of some Emergent leaders. I’m glad you got the main point about evangelism in missional churches not being about programs.

  4. September 5, 2006 11:17 pm

    Woah! That was so exciting I stayed up late to listen to it! I am really glad to be a new part of a church that 1) reads the Bible and strives to have good theology 2) puts God and his kingdom first instead of the world (hey, Matthew 6!) and 3) works hard to prepare its congregation to be salt and light, instead of putting them to work as entertainers or program-coordinators. In the sense that those three things are emergent missional, I am happy that CEFC is a part of the emergent “conversation”.

    Has anybody read the book that the conference is based on?

  5. September 6, 2006 7:49 am

    Ellie, not yet. I assume you mean Above all Earthly Pow’rs. I think Adam over at my blog is reading it. It’s on my list… :)

Leave a Reply

