Skip to content

Book Reviews

September 3, 2006

I prefer to read books by dead guys.  This is not only true for theology, but for literature as well.  I’m way out of my element in writing about literature but, in my tiny experience, contemporary literature is too quirky and/or perverted. 

But in the last year or so I have read two books written in my lifetime that have vastly exceeded the expectations I have of my generation.  Extraordinary excellence and no debauchery.  Both of these books were written by women.  I’m not sure what that indicates.

So here’s two books that I recommend wholeheartedly and without reservation.

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson.  

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard.   (ht: Lady in Waiting)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2006 9:21 pm

    I’m very glad you enjoyed it! I’ll have to look into reading the other one – I just finished the last of the unread “Books I Borrowed from Friends” pile.

  2. September 4, 2006 10:49 pm

    Beth,

    I also read Blue Like Jazz and liked it, but I don’t think it belongs on the same shelf. It’s a good call toward love and a good reminder not to be a jerk, but it will be out of print in a decade. Annie Dillard will wow readers in the next century, if the Lord tarries.

  3. September 5, 2006 10:33 am

    Dillard is certainly the more classic of the two, and the one whose book I think will stand the test of time- in fact, I was quite surprised to find out how recently it was written, because it seems so timeless. My love of Miller’s work has been tempered by actually interviewing him… I’m sure he is just introverted, but he was probably the hardest interview I’ve ever had.

  4. September 5, 2006 11:08 am

    You interviewed him? That’s interesting. Did you publish the interview somewhere?

  5. September 5, 2006 1:00 pm

    It’s supposed to be in the book Relevant Nation, which is supposed to be coming out this month… I had a couple other interviews in there, but I haven’t seen it in any bookstores but Amazon.

Leave a Reply

