Skip to content

Sufjan Stevens

August 26, 2006

So I heard my first Sufjan Stevens song yesterday.  It was playing in the Corkscrew and someone else asked the manager what it was and he said “Sufjan Stevens.”  I liked it.  I’ve heard of this guy before.  I hear he’s a hit among furry Emergent types.  (That’s not a curse, I’m being playful, I like furry Emergent types).  Anyway, since I’m not cool anymore, I don’t know anything else about him but I’m sure some of you out there do.  Thoughtful reviews are sought from you.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellie permalink
    August 26, 2006 2:55 pm

    I really like Sufjan Stevens. Maybe that makes me a furry Emergent type, although I admit I don’t really know that that means. My husband would say it is mopey-head shoegazer Emo music, but despite all that, I like it anyway. I have heard Seven Swans, which is good but very mellow, and I own Illinoise, which has intelligent lyrics, beautiful melodies, great instrumentation, and cleverly obscure references to the Bible, Illinois trivia, art, and childhood memories among other things – plus the cover art on the CD is just great. Highly recommended by me.

  2. August 26, 2006 5:27 pm

    What is a furry Emergent?

  3. August 26, 2006 5:46 pm

    http://purgatorio1.com/?p=105

    Prepare yourself.  Don’t be holding any hot beverages.   You might hurt yourself laughing.

  4. August 26, 2006 6:28 pm

    Ok, maybe I’m stupid – no comment anyone…. But, I still don’t get it totally….

  5. dlibman permalink
    August 26, 2006 8:17 pm

    Here is what a friend of mine wrote about the “music” of Sufjan Stevens on his blog printculture.com:

    My wife recently requested I put the hurt on Sufjan Stevens. Out of contrariness, I defended him. His music is mild but inoffensive, entirely suitable for sweater shopping or hanging Christmas ornaments down at the old folks’ home, and he has clearly put some thought into choosing his arrangements and instrumentation. Why not live and let live? Where’s the harm.

    Thought you might be interested. –d

  6. August 26, 2006 10:17 pm

    I don’t know much about Sufjan, other than what little I’ve heard I like, but I’m not really into the music scene, so I don’t know anything about cool music. Cool books, though, I can maybe sometimes help you out on (though I’ve been doing nothing but reading brain candy lately).

    However, I was very, very disappointed that Purgatorio didn’t include Blue Like Jazz on their list of books furry emergents listen to. I about died… but… why do they all have to be males??? Other than that, I about died laughing. I need to send that to my friend James :D

  7. August 26, 2006 10:28 pm

    OK, here’s a link to a serious heady take on Emergent

    http://theologica.blogspot.com/2006/08/9marks-on-emerging-church.html

  8. Egana permalink
    August 27, 2006 3:16 pm

    Maybe I should check this emergent church thing out…. looks like fun!

    Do we get all the tatoos and cars and stuff when we sign up?

    I’ve been toying with the idea of a tattoo. I am getting tired of dressing and looking “conservative” when so much of my life in Christ IS adventure, and relational risk, and resisting the pull of our consumerist, Mammon serving culture.

    Ornamentation and beautification for the pleasure and joy of it sounds better and better to me. I don’t think beauty in form and function HAS to be distracting from the truths of the Gospel, or from our corporate worship, etc. But alas, it often is.

  9. August 27, 2006 3:50 pm

    Serioius heady take on Emergent was informative and good, though a bit skewed. I think the problem is is that most people who would characterize themselves as part of the “Emerging/ent Church” don’t know exactly what they believe. While it’s all well and good to criticize them for wanting to over-contextualize the Bible to current culture… I don’t think most of them do- I think they just have more of a desire to minister to this generation, and are looking for new and different ways to do it. That’s not to say that the old ways are bad or anything… just that the tried-and-true methods don’t work for a large portion of the population these days.

    Also, I will note for the record that most of the emergent church folk that I’ve met and enjoy the company of tend to be NFPs… I don’t know whether this is true across the board, but it certainly seems to have a strong pull on that portion of the MBTI folk.

  10. August 28, 2006 7:27 am

    Egana mentioned mammon… so I have to link to this. Sorry for being a troll.

    As far as all things emerging go, I think the single most helpful insights into the movement (after the purgatorio pictoral essay) are from the Driscoll interviews on DG advertising the national conference. You can watch those here.

    Per Sufjan – I don’t care what or how he plays, whoever said “sweater shopping or hanging Christmas ornaments down at the old folks’ home” needs a medal, that is rich. :)

  11. August 28, 2006 5:01 pm

    Well, I’m not sure Sufjan is going to make the cut onto my mp3 player. But if you dig mellow mood music, I can give my thumbs up to Will Ackerman. Check out the album “Past Light” or “Conferring with the Moon” or or “Sounds of Wind Driven Rain” It’s all instrumental. Repetitive guitar arpeggios create background for other instruments to soar. My brother in law mocks me, but I have a soft spot for it. Let me put that on my head phones, give me a big pour of Laphroiag and a book to read and I go to my happy place.

  12. August 28, 2006 8:39 pm

    Mark the Troll,

    you got flagged as spam again. I restored you to the world of non-processed meat products.

    I think it got you just because you had multiple links in your comment.

  13. August 28, 2006 8:43 pm

    Mark the Troll,

    Great link, BTW. Hey everybody! If you didn’t click on the first link in the comment listed three above, go do it. It’s funny.

Leave a Reply

