Skip to content

Reality Check

August 26, 2006

Great comment on the blogosphere:

It’s perfectly understandable when political junkies and box office watchers conclude that web buzz augurs big things, but it’s also perfectly backwards. We look at the humming activity of the blogosphere and assume the cadre of online enthusiasts behind it constitutes the tip of an off-line iceberg….

 Reality is just the opposite. People go to the blogosphere because they can’t find a sizable number of people in their everyday, off-line lives that are as enthusiastic as they are. The blogosphere gathers together atypical fans and brings them together in what quickly becomes a broadband echo chamber. The louder and more intense the online community gets, the farther it’s likely drifting from what is happening offline.

ht:IMonk

full article

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Egana permalink
    August 27, 2006 2:47 pm

    So true! I find the normal world difficult enough to deal with at times. But the intensity of the “echo chamber” is more and more often too much for me.

    I am so much happier dipping in only rarely. Do I realy need to know about all the different things I can find out about online? At first, I thought that I could take all this extra info with me into my prayer times, but then it all just got too big, too heavy, too much information. I had long lists of people and things to pray about, and I just didnt care anymore.

  2. August 28, 2006 11:37 am

    I’ve been reading IMonk on and off for over a year and enjoy many of his entries. I’m glad you’ve found him as well.

  3. August 28, 2006 11:55 am

    great, I’m even weirder than I thought.

Leave a Reply

