Skip to content

Bigger Heart, Smaller Butt: Prayerwalking for Holistic Fitness

August 10, 2006

I had an idea last November to write a book of this title.  I’ve written a few pages.  I doubt it’s ever really going to happen.  So I’ll post bits of it here and maybe over time it will grow into a blook.  (Get it?  blog –> book  = blook)

Here is the preface:

     This book really isn’t about physical fitness.  Not much, anyway.  But it is the story of a 38 year old pastor of slowing metabolism and thickening middle who got fed up with frequently failing to find time for both physical and spiritual exercises.  So I tried a simple solution.   In the past, I would purpose to play racquetball or swim or go to the gym 3-4 times per week and only make it 1-2 times per week.  Now I walk one hour, every day, and while I walk, I pray.   I want to pray every day anyway and, for reasons I’ll enumerate throughout the book, I pray better while walking.   I can’t pray while playing racquetball.  I did have some success for a while pairing Scripture memory and swimming.  (It requires Ziploc bags.)  But prayerwalking is far simpler. 

     I grant you it’s a fairly pedestrian insight.  But the physical health benefits and spiritual health benefits I soon received from prayerwalking so vastly exceeded my expectations that I felt compelled to write about it. 

     The chapters to follow will vary in theme and be presented in no particular order.  Some chapters will contain a practical suggestion on how to pray or to engage in other biblical spiritual exercises while walking.  Some will be meditations on verses about prayer or on the way the metaphor of walking is used in Scripture.  Some will be motivational reflections on the benefits of prayerwalking.   Some will encourage you to consider the ministry applications of prayerwalking as you bring others along with you.   All the chapters will have one thing in common.  You’ll be able to read each one in just a few minutes before you go out for your prayerwalk.

     May God richly bless you and those with whom you walk.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2006 9:27 am

    I like it. Perhaps this would be similair in format to Piper’s “Pierced by the Word” or “Life as a Vapor?”

  2. August 10, 2006 9:33 am

    And if you want to get really nit-picky, it’s web + log + book -> blook. :-)

  3. Bethlen Gabor permalink
    August 10, 2006 10:16 am

    Would that be blook, or bloogk? Though I actually prefer “Life as a Vapor”.

  4. August 10, 2006 11:14 am

    Hm. If web + log = blog, then web + book = book? : )

    And log + book = gbook?

    and web + log + book = bgbook

    gobbledegook!

  5. egana permalink
    August 10, 2006 12:10 pm

    I can attest to the bigger heart part, but for the rest… hmm… I have yet to see any tangible results…

    YeeeeHAW for prayer walking! it is awesome! Thank you Isaiah543 for sharing even the little “new ideas” with the rest of us. You don’t know what pieces of your life the Lord uses to bless the rest of us!

    I have to bring something with me to focus my thoughts (scripture, etc) or else I am jsut walking and worrying about how much work I have to do, or comapring my house to the other houses in the neighborhood, or any number of less that blessful things.

  6. August 10, 2006 10:20 pm

    Seriously, can someone show me how exactly one does this? The whole concept is very foreign to me. Do you pray out loud? What do you pray for? How does walking help one focus? Ahh, so many questions…

  7. August 10, 2006 11:11 pm

    Tune in tomorrow for more! :-)

    Chapter 1 is called “bring a bible”
    Chapter 2 is called “pray out loud”

    Chapter 1 will be up in the morning.
    Chapter 2 might not be until middle of next week.

  8. August 11, 2006 1:26 pm

    I don’t think you should just publish the whole thing on your blog — I think you should seriously consider having a little ‘Prayer of Jabez’ type of thing done . . . I think it would it be attractive to a publisher b/c it would sell and, more importantly, I think it would motivate more people to a deeper prayer life.

  9. August 11, 2006 1:30 pm

    Thanks, but right now I only have what I’ve already posted and half of chapter 2 written. Maybe this way I actually finish it and then I could still try to publish it, right?

  10. Oddball permalink
    August 11, 2006 4:34 pm

    I don’t need a smaller butt; I need a smaller gut!

    Maybe I should try prayer sit-ups?

    :-)

  11. August 11, 2006 5:47 pm

    Yeah, my problem is also gut, not butt. But butt sells more books.

Leave a Reply

