Skip to content

Off the Cutting Room Floor

July 23, 2006

One of the things I have liked most about blogging is that when something has to be cut from Sunday’s sermon, I have another outlet for it.

Psalm 13:3-4 Enlighten my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death, Lest my enemy say, “I have overcome him,” Lest my adversaries rejoice when I am shaken.

That word for shaken makes for a fascinating study.  Of the 36 occurrences of the root in the Bible, 22 of them are in the psalms.  Here’s a few of them.

Psalm 16:8 I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.

Psalm 30:6-7 When I felt secure, I said, “I will never be shaken.” O LORD, when you favored me, you made my mountain stand firm; but when you hid your face, I was dismayed.

Psalm 46:2-6 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. Selah There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells. God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day. Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall; he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

Psalm 55:22 Cast your burden upon the LORD, and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.

Psalm 62:6 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.

Psalm 94:18 When I thought, “My foot slips,” your steadfast love, O LORD, held me up.

Psalm 96:10 Say among the nations, “The LORD reigns! Yes, the world is established; it shall never be moved; he will judge the peoples with equity.”

Here’s all the rest if you want to do further study…

10:6, 15:5, 17:5, 21:8, 38:16, 60:2, 66:2, 82:5, 93:1, 104:5, 112:6, 125:1, 140:10 

OK, you’ve got to preach it yourself from here.  What point might you have made if you had had the time to insert a point from this study into a sermon on Psalm 13?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2006 4:29 pm

    the shaken concept seems to unite all four structural points from Psalm 13 (sorrow, prayer, trust, & praise), that you mentioned this morning. Shaken seems to be part of the bridge from sorrow to prayer in 13. (I feel like I’m this, but keep me from this.) Meanwhile, it was used here and elsewhere as a state with regard to confidence in the Lord… he will keep me from this. Just as “How Long” has the seed of faith that the Lord will stay his hand, that the season will turn, so shaken has the seed of faith per my current fears and God’s treatment of his children. This confidence in God emboldens the psalmist in some of the other examples to praise. so I hope I’m on the right track here. :) does that preach?

  2. Ellie permalink
    July 24, 2006 8:16 pm

    God is the only thing anywhere that is NOT shakeable or moveable; the only thing that stays the same whether the mountains are firm (Psalm 30) or are sliding into the sea (Psalm 46), whether the foundations of the earth are firmly established (Psalm 104) or seem to be out of course (Psalm 82), whether he is hiding his face (Psalm 13) or in the midst of us (Psalm 46), he is still there and immutable. Therefore trust in him is the only thing that is worth a hill of beans. Everything else (especially us) can only totter, shake, slip and fall without him – that is why we rely on him, trust him, and make him our rock and our defense. I personally have a hard time with this trust issue (I am still so untrusting it is painful to me) so this has been a very marvelous and prayerful thing for me to think through. Thanks for the good question.

    Did you actually want us to give answers, or was that sort of a rhetorical question on your part?

  3. July 24, 2006 9:11 pm

    not rhetorical, good answer!

Leave a Reply

