Skip to content

More Thoughts on Obedience

July 20, 2006

Romans 6:16 Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey– whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness?

Obedience is worship.  It is offering our bodies as a living sacrifice.

Obedience is love.  If we love Jesus, we will obey his commands.

Obedience is faith.  If we trust that God loves us, we will obey his commands, believing that they are good for us.

Obedience is not by osmosis.  It requires effort.   Let us seek strength from the throne of grace.   

I’m reading a book that says that we’ve replaced obedience with excellence.  Pursuing excellence is what businesses do.  They find an optimal balance between quality and costs to look good to customers and maximize profits.  But God doesn’t call us to excellence.  He calls us to obedience. 

But we use excellence to cover our disobedience.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2006 9:09 am

    I think I need to grasp this concept in order to understand better the relationship between obedience and faith. Faith, love, and worship aren’t divided by huge catagorical rifts in my mind. But because so many confuse merit and faith in justification I’ve got this big divide between obedience and faith. Seeing them together, without loosing sight of sola Fide, brings a more wholistic view of chrisitian living from both OT and NT. Isn’t this essential to understand texts like Luke 1:6? (Zechariah and Liz were blameless…)

    I think the excellence view is consistent with this trouble.

  2. egana permalink
    July 22, 2006 4:30 pm

    woah…

    “we use excellence to cover our disobedience”

    I think this is true, but it hurts to admit it, and it has an astringent quality to it, it stings, then it reveals…

    The problem is, that most of the time only God and I know wether or not I am obeying Him. So I can get away with an awful lot of “looking good” to my brothers and sisters in Christ, before anyone catches on that I am not actually obeying God, I am merely pursuing excellence.

    Actually, I am not even pursuing “excellence” when I am doing this. it is a semblance of excellence, probably better categorized as relaxed mediocre coolness…

    Obedience is between me and the Lord. What may “look” to other like obedience might in fact be direct disobedience. But, surprisingly enough, I cant think of a time where my obedience looked like disobedience. Interesting…

    The clincher comes in the dynamic of my relationship with God. Disobedience makes me want to hide from Him, and keep me from trusting Him, even as I pursue that which I have decided is what I want more that His blessing. Obedience, on the other hand, brings me joy and peace, and the sweetness of close trust and dependance on Jesus.

    I must just be stupid… to choose to follow my flesh instead of the sweet promises of Jesus?

Leave a Reply

