Skip to content

7 Verses Proved True in my Experience

July 15, 2006

Psalm 12:6 The words of the LORD are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times.

1) Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

I believe this was the verse illumined to my soul on the night of my regeneration when I was a college freshmen, anxious about career decisions and whether a philosophy major could ever make any money.

2) Proverbs 2:4-5,10 If you seek her as silver And search for her as for hidden treasures;  Then you will discern the fear of the LORD And discover the knowledge of God…. For wisdom will enter your heart And knowledge will be pleasant to your soul;

3) Isaiah 54:3 For you will spread abroad to the right and to the left. And your descendants will possess nations And will resettle the desolate cities.

I believe the Lord impressed this verse upon me during a prayer retreat with a friend in May 1989.  This is verse is part of the heritage of the servants of the Lord, says 54:17.  So you can claim it too.  I keep praying that God will send out my descendants, physical and spiritual, to be a part of urban church planting movements among unreached people groups.  

4) Ephesians 5:28 He who loves his wife loves himself.

Love your wife, it’s good for you.

5) Psalm 16:4 The sorrows of those will increase who run after other gods.

Yup, that’s true.

6) Psalm 127:3-5 Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.

I got five kids.  It was hard.  But the blessing is bigger than the burden.  Notice from the psalm that the blessing comes later.

7) Titus 2:7-8 In your teaching show integrity, seriousness and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us.

When I was a nervous 26 yr old pastor, God impressed this verse upon me.  I came to believe that if I just brought my A-game in the pulpit, they’d forgive me for a lot of other foolishness.  They did.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2006 8:31 am

    I wanted to affirm your comments on obedience and knowledge in the sermon. In the past few months I have had several times in which memorized scripture has come to mind at opportune moments and obedience to it has softened my heart and given me opportunity to learn more from the same scripture that came to mind as well as leading me to turn to Him in prayer and encouraged my study of other scripture. Obedience definitely brings a blessing! : )

  2. egana permalink
    July 18, 2006 10:41 am

    Oh man! 7? How bout 2 or 3 for now, ok?

    1. Proverbs 15:1 A gentle answer turns away wrath, but harsh words stir up anger.

    My good friend Bon. Mcl. showed me this verse in 2002 or so. What God has shown me is that not only can my gentle answer turn away the wrath of my husband and children, it can turn away my own anger as well. When I hear my kind, rational, patient words spoken into a situation can talk me down off the cliff as well. ahhhh… self control is good, my friends…

    2. Proverbs 14:1 A wise woman builds her house; a foolish woman tears hers down with her own hands.

    Early on in our marriage (1993) I tried to make Gorf do what I wanted by manipulation, harshness, ridicule, etc. This was not much fun for him, and i was literally tearing down the house I wanted us to build together.

    3. John 6:68 Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”

    I was miserable, and angry with God my Senior (1991) year of college. I was ready to quit all the Chtistianity stuff, and go back to “controlling my own life.” I was afraid, and didn’t see how I could trust a God who would allow His children to be hurt and mis-treated. But He rescued me with pragmatism. Where else was I gonna go? Only He had the words of life. What a good God.

    4. Ephesians 1:2 May grace and peace be yours, sent to you from God our Father and Jesus Christ our Lord.

    I know its just a greeting. But only God and His triune self can give us grace and peace. No other store carries it in stock or can special order it. If you want Grace and peace, it HAS TO BE SENT TO YOU from God. No other options.

    5. Ephesians 3:12 Because of Christ and our faith in Him, we can now come fearlessly in God’s presence, assured of glad welcome.

    Everytime I come into His presence, He gives me a glad welcome. Every time…. Every single time… whether I “deserve” it or not… ahhhhh….

    6. I Corintians 2:14 The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.

    So true. One day I was dumb, and dead, and did not accept the things that come from God, the next day He was me whole life, my true Joy, the center of my universe. These things must be “spiritually” discerned, because I did not study them or try to figure them out, but God revealed Himself to me. My parents adn brother are tons smarter than me, and the study this sort of stuff (God, the Bible, Ancient History, Archeology, etc) way more than me. If human will and intellect and wisdom could discern the gospel, than they would be the believers, and I would be the chaff… but he chooses the foolish things to shame the wise. I pray they become fools like me…

    7. 1 Peter 3:5-6 For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. They were submissive to their own husbands, like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her master. You are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear.

    Trusting God and obeying Him makes you beautiful. Doing what is right without fearing the consequences has always turned out good for me (ultimately good, I mean, not always good in the moment or fun in the relationship.) Submission is hard, and scary, and submitting to God or submitting to you husband may required disagreement or conflict or risk, persecution, or even death. (I have not experienced the latter two…) But fear and beauty are not freindly toward each other. Fear and Joy are incompatiable. Trusting God in my obedience to Him, submission to Him and my husband, always gives me beauty and Joy.

    This was a great exercise in reminding myself of God’s goodness in my life. Thanks!

  3. July 18, 2006 1:43 pm

    be sure to check out other CEFC blogs for more life stories told through God’s faithfulness to specific promises. Mobile Oak and Mrs. Potter have already posted, and I’m hoping for more to follow! ;-)

Leave a Reply

