Skip to content

The Power of Promises

July 12, 2006

A few more verses for meditation:

2 Peter 1:3-4 His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

2 Samuel 23:5 “Is not my house right with God? Has he not made with me an everlasting covenant, arranged and secured in every part? Will he not bring to fruition my salvation and grant me my every desire?

2 Corinthians 1:20 For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ.

And now a quotation of Gurnal found in Spurgeon’s commentary on Psalm 12:5

“As one may draw out the wine of a whole hogshead at one tap, so may a poor soul derive the comfort of the whole covenant to himself through one promise, if he be able to apply it.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2006 12:36 pm

    awesome quote. pertinent background.

  2. blondie permalink
    July 17, 2006 4:00 pm

    “…so may a poor soul derive the comfort of the whole covenant to himself through one promise, if he be able to apply it.” 2 Cor. 1:20 for no matter how many promises God has made, they are “yes” in Christ.

    Yes!!! I read this last week and I keep coming back to it in my mind…they are “YES” in Christ. It has permeated my daily reading of Isaiah. There is so much there for me. The more I read the more of him I get.

    Isaiah 40:11 He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.
    Isaiah 40:28-29 He will not grow tired or weary and his understaning no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary.
    Isaiah 41:13 “For I am the Lord, your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you. Do not be afraid, O worm Jacob, O little Israel, for I myself will help you,” declares the Lord, your Redeemer the holy one of Israel.
    Isaiah 42:3 A bruised reed he willl not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out.

    I am that bruised reed. I will not be broken, not because of my own determination to stand tall, but because He Will Not Allow It! “they are Yes, in Christ”. aaaaah.

Leave a Reply

