Skip to content

Foxe’s Book of Martyrs, updated.

July 7, 2006

http://www.sacredsandwich.com/advertisement14.htm

ht: Mark5

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2006 9:53 am

    Hah!

  2. July 7, 2006 2:22 pm

    while we’re in a humor mood… Here’s something to sing to the tune of Amazing Grace…

    Arminian “grace!” How strange the sound,
    Salvation hinged on me.
    I once was lost then turned around,
    Was blind then chose to see.

    What “grace” is it that calls for choice,
    Made from some good within?
    That part that wills to heed God’s voice,
    Proved stronger than my sin.

    Thru many ardent gospel pleas,
    I sat with heart of stone.
    But then some hidden good in me,
    Propelled me toward my home.

    When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
    Because of what we’ve done,
    We’ve no less days to sing our praise,
    Than when we first begun.

  3. July 7, 2006 2:46 pm

    And if you didn’t think that was funny, you really won’t like this…

    http://www.postmodernclog.com/archives/000065.html

  4. July 7, 2006 3:41 pm

    I’ve been over there before, and my favorite part is the subtitle: “Gentrifying the Christian Ghetto Since 2003.” :)

  5. egana permalink
    July 7, 2006 9:29 pm

    I have been reaquainting myself with the persecuted church since I entered the blogoshpere through VOM, and it has been really refreshing to get away from my own American bias when it comes to suffering.

    So this is particularly funny, since I have been spending ym mornings lifting up saints who are being starved, electrocuted, tortured, beaten, encaged, and mentally assaulted in every possible way, and yet they continue to bear witness for Him.

    here in the US, we are reminded of our witness, but are not worthy to suffer for His name…

    ouch

    now that hurts

  6. July 8, 2006 11:03 am

    I have made these exact same points recently in regards to ‘suffering’ when preaching through the book of Hebrews. Having my teeth knocked out at lunch by an unhappy Muslim because I proclaimed the gospel of Christ to him over grilled mushrooms and iced tea is suffering for the cause. Few ever see that.

    The American Christian idea of sufferng is pathetic. I would even take the satire a bit further by saying that American Christians call those same instances ‘suffering’ without the religious tags – a flat tire on the way to work, being passed up for a raise, being stuck in traffic, having their escrow account diminish, etc. All of those things are whined about and eisegetically put into the biblical texts that mention suffering.

    Suffering that honors the Lord is FOR the Lord’s sake, not an inconvenience or disappointment rooted bummer. No matter how high you stack the woe-is-me pancake if your suffering is not because of your standing firm in the Lord we should re-think our complaint.

    There is no doubt in my mind that there is a link between the milquetoastness and puff-n-fluffity of modern churches and our lack of suffering. Heat purges. Heat purifies. Heat strengthens. May we all find heat.

  7. July 8, 2006 11:37 am

    Eddie,

    I agree with you that suffering that comes from having our worldly hopes disappointed is not suffering for the Lord. (though maybe God will use it to readjust our misplaced hope)

    I would add one footnote to what you are saying. We do want even American Christians to know that physical suffering, like cancer, that has nothing to do with preaching the gospel is still part of the suffering that God works together for our good, that cannot separate us from the love of Christ, that is not worth comparing with the glory to follow, that is used by God to conform us to the image of Christ, that is part of the tribulation that Jesus said we would have in this world, but take heart, he has overcome the world. It’s not persecution. But suffering in the NT is more than persecution.

    Would you agree?

  8. July 8, 2006 1:47 pm

    Absolutely I would agree. Good point. Thank you.

  9. egana permalink
    July 10, 2006 10:45 am

    I think this is especially hard to remember when we are suffering some “natural consequence” of our own decisions, or ouw own mistakes. When I burn the dinner again, because I am trying to do too many htigns at once, and then the family is all upset with me about it, I can forget the Lord’s hand in it, and just start to beat myself up about it.

    Or if I turn off at Ogden instead of Oakwood, and then go the the house instead of the Polliwogs, and then get lost rying to find the Polliwogs, we can end up coming to a birthday party a whole hour late, to the desolation of my eldest. So, I can start to agree with her pronouncements against my intelligence, and view these “natural consequences” as a just punishment for my stupid air-headedness.

    It is like a cool refreshing drink to remember that God is at work through the “natural consequences” as well as the things that are more “persecuty” or more physical suffering like cancer.

  10. July 10, 2006 10:59 am

    One time after experiencing a comedy of errors similar to the ones Egana has described above, I came to the conclusion, with the help of my beautiful and brilliant wife, that “Efficiency is not an attribute of God.”

    Efficiency is the optimal use of limited resources. But when your resources are unlimited, who cares about efficiency? You can take your time and do your work however you want. So sometimes the Lord ordains that we get lost in Peoria and miss most of the worship service. But in all this he’s still working to make all things beautiful in His time. (Ecc 3).

  11. egana permalink
    July 10, 2006 8:01 pm

    Ahhhhhh…

    efficiency-ness is not close to godliness?

    so glad to hear it…

    *grin*

Leave a Reply

