Skip to content

Proverbs 1:23

July 5, 2006

If you turn at my reproof, behold, I will pour out my spirit to you; I will make my words known to you.

When do you expect to experience the outpouring of the Holy Spirit and his illumination of his word?  I think we often feel we must get our house/desk orderly first, clear out some time, take a deep breath, brew some coffee, and then when we open our Bible we’ll hear the voice of God.  But Proverbs 1:23 reminds me that some of the most powerful and memorable times I’ve had with God are when I am fleeing from temptation for refuge in His word.  You are tempted to go down the path of the wicked.  You hear wisdom’s reproof.  Now, RIGHT NOW! is the time to open the Bible or recite the memory verse.  It’s when you heed the reproof that the Spirit is poured out and the Word illumined.   Temptations, then, are great opportunities.  Sibbes wrote in The Bruised Reed, “What is won as a spoil from our corruptions will have as great a degree of comfort afterwards as it has of obstruction for the present.”  There’s a great reward for fleeing from temptation to the refuge of his Word.  Go get it.

“As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.”  Why is the deer panting?  Because he’s being hunted, he’s being chased.  

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2006 4:26 pm

    coincidentally I read that verse yesterday. That passage cited is written as spoken by the female wisdom character. Lots of questions come to mind though…

    Whose spirit is poured out? Wisdom’s? God’s?

    Can we view Wisdom as inherently beautiful (hence the feminine identification) and the spirit of wisdom is the longing for God?

    Or do you think that the spirit referenced is The Spirit? So if we heed the words of wisdom (which are beautiful in themselves as a woman is inherently beautiful…I gotta keep working that in) then God will pour out his Spirit on us. The operative thing being God’s words are wise and beautiful.

    [BIG FAT JOKE] Or am I completely out of it and should return to worshiping a female wisdom diety? [/BIG FAT JOKE]

  2. July 7, 2006 7:10 am

    at Bible study the other night, what I was trying to put into words was my (heretical?) idea concerning the “spirit of wisdom.” In thinking about this passage, I posited that wisdom personified as a woman could have a spirit (just like a ‘spirit of the age’ sort of thing.) What would that spirit be? Would it not be a taste for God’s character? Since fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, wisdom is based on an appreciation of God’s attributes.

    But, I prefer your explaination in minute 21 of this sermon. That is, that Christ is the Wisdom of God.

    I’m going to go ahead and blame my crazy thoughts on the Barth reading I had to do this week. :)

  3. July 7, 2006 7:33 am

    oh yeah, also, 1 Corinthians 1:24:
    “but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.”(ESV)

  4. egana permalink
    July 7, 2006 9:36 pm

    so the deer is panting because he is running from something or someone? he is being hunted?

    I’ve never heard that before. I thought the deer was panting because it was thirsty…

    “As the deer panteth for the water, so my sould longeth after thee…
    You alone are my hearts desire and I long to worship thee..
    You alone are my strength, my shield..
    To you alone may my spirit yield..
    You alone are my heart’s desire and I long to worship thee.”

    That’s what i think of when I hear this verse. But you have to sing it way up in the stratosphere where H.V. and mom2two sing it. If you sing it low it doesn’t sound right somwhow.

  5. July 11, 2006 12:33 pm

    Yes, I think the deer is thirsty because he’s been chased. David is comparing himself to a hunted deer because he is oppressed by his enemies (see verse 9).

    I think it is also interesting that Psalm 42/43 is the first psalm of book 2 and it has similarities to Psalm 3, the first psalm of David and the first psalm of book 1 after the introductory psalms 1-2

    42:3 they say to me continually “Where is your God”
    3:2 many are saying of my soul, “There is no salvation for him in God”

    “holy hill” is in 43:3 and 3:4
    “light of your face” is in 44:3 and 4:6

Leave a Reply

