Skip to content

Chanting Psalm 11

July 4, 2006

I’m preaching Psalm 11 Sunday, and we might chant it together before the sermon.  I’ve just made the following to project overhead.  The melody goes up where you see the slash marks and down where you see an underline.  You can listen to the melody by clicking the link below.  Unfortunately, you can’t sing along because they sing it in the KJV and we will sing it in the ESV.  But you can learn the melody from the link and then come back here and sing these words.   

In the LORD I take refuge;  

                                        /

how can you say to my soul,

“Flee like a bird to your mountain,

for behold, the wicked bend the bow;   

                                           /

they have fitted their arrow to the string

To shoot in the dark at the upright in heart; 

                              /                            

if the foundations are destroyed,

what can the righteous do?”

                                          /

The LORD is in his holy temple;

the LORD’s throne is in heaven;

                             /

his eyes see, his eyelids test,

the children of man.

                                    /

The LORD tests the righteous,

but his soul hates the wicked and the one who loves violence. 

                                         / 

Let him rain coals on the wicked;

fire and sulfur and a scorching wind shall be the portion of their cup. 

                                                          /

For the LORD is righteous; he loves righteous deeds;

the upright shall behold his face.

Click here: Psalm 11 [KJV :( ]chanted to Psalm Tone 2

Before the singer begins singing verses 1-7 to Tone 2, he sings verse 4a as a fancy opening sentence.  Ignore that. 

For a full explanation of what’s going on here, click on the “Listen to Lutherans Chant Psalms” link in the box o’ links on the right.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2006 2:07 pm

    I find myself existing between a Monty Python skit and my many years as a Roman Catholic altar boy when I heard this. I wasn’t sure if I should make a joke, laugh, or be in reverent awe.

    Funny how your background taints what you perceive. That being said. I’m not opposed to chants, they just bring out the eebies in my old jeebies.

    Chant on.

  2. July 4, 2006 3:57 pm

    Hey regulars,

    Eddie Exposito is a friend of EricN and the pastor of the church in La. where John K. is going next year. So I decided he was commentworthy. It must be such a big day for him :-)

  3. July 4, 2006 6:40 pm

    Oh my! It’s such a big day for me that… wait … ummm…. ;)

    I’ve enjoyed the blog since I got a hold of it and look forward to reading more.

    Thanks for allowing me to join ya’ll :)

  4. July 7, 2006 9:05 am

    For more explanation and discussion of why we do this…

    https://isaiah543.wordpress.com/2006/05/09/sing-the-psalms-part-deux/

  5. July 7, 2006 9:09 pm

    Eddie has a blog! Yayyyyyyy!

Leave a Reply

