Skip to content

Indeed, Dude, Nihilism is Exhausting

July 2, 2006

Any other conclusions you would draw from this verse?

ESV Psalm 10:4 In the pride of his face the wicked does not seek him; all his thoughts are, “There is no God.”

KJV Psalm 10:4 The wicked, through the pride of his countenance, will not seek after God: God is not in all his thoughts.

NAS Psalm 10:4 The wicked, in the haughtiness of his countenance, does not seek Him. All his thoughts are, “There is no God.”

NIV Psalm 10:4 In his pride the wicked does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. egana permalink
    July 2, 2006 6:56 pm

    the KJV Psalm 10:4 font is extremely difficult to read.. small, dotty, thin, icky…

    I am intrigued about the “pride of face..” I wonder what that is…

    ESV says “pride of his face”
    KJV says “pride of his countenance”
    NAS says “haughtiness of his countenance”
    NIV says “pride”

    I wonder if there is somehting specific in the face that indicates a heart ruled by pride. And this suggests that there might be something in the face of a believer to indicate his submission to God…

    hmmm…. anyone?

  2. July 3, 2006 2:27 pm

    If I may be so bold as to request a particular topic for one of your upcoming entries.. could you write your thoughts and opinions about our role as Christians in the politics of our country? Should we be out there campaigning for people? Should “Christian morality” be passed as legislation (such as the gay marriage amendment, etc), or should it be a more subdued approach where we voice what Christianity is like to those people around us, and generally avoid politics? (or maybe it’s a personality thing)

    These are questions I’ve been trying to answer to myself lately, and your thoughts would be appreciated.

  3. July 3, 2006 4:15 pm

    Mobile Oak,

    I don’t care enough about politics to devote an entire post to it, and that probably answers your question!

    I also am concerned that excessive attention to politics divides Christians and quenches the work of the Spirit of God. Therefore I don’t relish the idea of discussing it here.

    I’d be happy to disclose to you some of my political opinions in person sometime, but, y’know, opinions are like armpits: Everybody’s got a couple and most of them stink.

    The main thing I feel called to say is “Put no confidence in princes”. and “Pray for kings…that we may live peaceful and quiet lives” and “Come, King Jesus!”

  4. egana permalink
    July 3, 2006 4:17 pm

    Mobileoak’s comment (requesting a topic of conversation, and specifically asking you Isaiah543 to give your opinions, is what i was trying to get at with my failed “Ask Egana…” page. I like having a way for readers to suggest topics. But I can’t seem to find a graceful way to organize it on my blog.

    I also would like to hear your take on this politics thing. I recieved a Focus on the Family letter that seemed intent on stirring up my fear of the left-wing, and challenged me strongly to “get involved for the sake of the children…”.

    But what kind of involvement is actually mandated in scripture, and what kind of involvement is part of the freedom of “whatever” that God gives us as we live our lives and make our decisions in wisdom, and what kind of involvement is merely chasing after the wind?

  5. July 7, 2006 9:00 am

    let’s see if I can revive the conversation about Psalm 10:4. Here’s another similarly themed verse to consider.

    Psalm 36:1-2 Transgression speaks to the wicked deep in his heart; there is no fear of God before his eyes. 2 For he flatters himself in his own eyes that his iniquity cannot be found out and hated. (ESV)

    Psalm 36:1-2 An oracle is within my heart concerning the sinfulness of the wicked: There is no fear of God before his eyes. 2 For in his own eyes he flatters himself too much to detect or hate his sin. (NIV)

  6. egana permalink
    July 7, 2006 9:52 pm

    That last part is veryu interesting: “he flatters himself too much to detect or hate his sin.”

    wow…

    so before the regeneration of the Spirit, we are so busy flattering ourselves that we don’t even known we are sinning, much less hate it. Again, I am wanting to apply this to my parenting, because to me it seems so obvious that they are sinning against each other (or me) and yet, maybe they are so busy building themselves up, making a name for themselves, flattering themselves in their own eyes, that they don’t know that they are sinning, so that’s why they don’t see it and don’t hate it, but feel justified and “in the right.” most of the time.

    I know I am quick to go into “parenting” mode, but you see, most of my interaction with unbelievers is with my 3 little live-in unbelievers. I don’t get into religious discussions with other unbelievers i meet at the park, or family members during Christmas get-togethers. But I have all SORTS of opportunities to discuss sin and forgiveness, with my 3 little unbelievers here at home.

  7. July 7, 2006 10:02 pm

    I’m usually not sure what to think of it, but I’m enjoying your attempts to make parental applications. Maybe it’s because my eldest is only three, but their certainly not “naturally” occurring to me.

  8. July 7, 2006 10:13 pm

    It seems that the NIV and KJV translates similarly, while the ESV and NAS are similarly different. Which is the better translation? I noticed because the ESV and NAS sound like nihilism, but the NIV and KJV do not (at least not the definition at dict.org).

  9. July 10, 2006 2:16 pm

    Egana, regarding stirring up fear of the left…

    http://www.gocomics.com/calvinandhobbes/1995/07/07/

  10. egana permalink
    July 10, 2006 8:05 pm

    har har har-uh?

    ya know, these Calvin and Hobbes cartoons make me laugh, and then make me ashamed for laughing, because they are always poking fun at some aspect of human nature or group dynamic in a funny way, that I then am reminded I have participated in, and then I am ashamed.

    so, even though they are brilliantly funny, it is a bitter-sweet joke in the end for me, and I often leave them feeling sad and empty.

Leave a Reply

