Skip to content

Why does this always happen to me?

June 26, 2006

I was contemplating a silly blog rant about why my links are suddenly down at the bottom of the page (anybody know how to fix it?) when I remembered this great Weird Al song about whinyness…

I was watching my TV one night when they broke in with a special report
About some devastating earthquake in Peru
There were thirty thousand crushed to death, even more were buried alive
On the Richter scale it measured 8.2

And I said, “God, please answer me one question?”
“Why’d they have to interrupt ‘The Simpsons’ just for this?”
What a drag, ’cause I was taping it and everything
And now I’ll have to wait for the rerun to see the part of the show I missed

Why does this always happen?
Why does this always happen to me?
Why does this always happen?
Why does this always happen to me?

Leave a Comment leave one →
  1. June 26, 2006 2:25 pm

    Wierd Al is so great! I remember my first exposure to his songs. I was barely aware of what he was spoofing, but laughed until I cried in my best friends dark, dusty livingroom.

    Since that baptismal initiation, I have only grown in my appreciation of his wit and keen insight into the rediculous and the absurd in our country.

    I think the first Wierd Al song I ever heard was off of his “In 3-D” album. It was a song about a slasher film, called “Nature Trail to Hell.” I was in 5th grade, and I thought it was hilarious! I am giggling now remembering it. I wonder if I can download it from somewhere….

  2. June 26, 2006 3:49 pm

    I can’t stand his singing style, but his parodies are very funny (or pointed, as in the above case).

Leave a Reply

