Skip to content

Quiet Time Guilt

May 31, 2006

Nope, we’re still not free enough yet. More freedom! More freedom! Ahhhhhh…..

http://gregscouch.homestead.com/files/Quiet_Time_Guilt.htm

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2006 2:06 pm

    Wow, well said. Nav rehab continues. :)

    I’ll pass this along.

    I enjoyed his simple language, very little reformed theoligical jargon. I’m almost certain that is intentional, given he titles himself a teacher and theologian. Another lesson no doubt. However I don’t intend to turn this comment thread from QT-Guilt into another one of our sessions discussing expression and forms.

  2. June 1, 2006 11:17 am

    ah, drat…

    I love discussing expression and form…

  3. June 5, 2006 4:42 pm

    I think a lot of mothers with young children suffer from this. They have grown up hearing about Quiet Times as THE WAY to seek the Lord, and namy of them were pretty faithful with their Quiet Times, setting aside a chunk-o-time, making a pretty place, keeping up with their reading, etc. But then the babies start coming, and you are on the job 24/7.

    There are things a young mom can do to pursuer the Lord, but sit for 30 minutes in one place quietly reading is rarely one of them.

    The other options that are offered by good advice givers seem like second best options, compared to the hallow’d glow the Quiet Time caries with it.

    Singing praise songs around the house, yard, or garden…
    repreating verses while changing diapers…
    listening to edifying sermons or scripture recordings while folding laundry or making dinner…
    listening to praise songs, Christian radio, or hymns while nursing, bathing children, etc.

    All of these (and many opthers I am sure) are ways for moms with young children to fellowship with the Lord and be fed by Him. But if the “Quiet Time” is the only way, then this particular season of life is going to be a spiritually dry place…

  4. June 11, 2006 10:28 pm

    Another thought: In our small group this evening, we discussed this revelation that the Quiet Time is not the ultimate spiritual experiece or discipline. We all agreed.

    But an issue was raised…

    When talking this over with a friend, the friend’s response was “Oh great, I’m never having another quiet time again.. whew!”

    So now, where does disicpline come in? We all agree that we are free from coercion and anxiety management, but what about the spiritual disicplines that our sinful flesh rages against?

    My understanding of this article is that the guilt is what is wrong, not the quiet time itself, right? Certainly we are to WANT to learn more about the Lord from is word, right? But feeling guilty about seeking the Lord in ways other than the “Quiet Time” is the problem, right?

    I mean, it seems to me that if my small group member’s friend is relieved that they don’t have to pursue God anymore, they have bigger problems than Quiet Time Guilt…

  5. June 12, 2006 7:17 am

    I guess the question is what did they mean by “I’m never having a quiet time again?”

    If they mean “I’m unshackled from this particular devotional exercise and free to meditate on the word in one of dozens of other ways,” then they got it.

    If they mean “Great, I’m never reading the Bible again,” then there’s reason to wonder if they’re born again. Born again people want to meditate on Scripture.

  6. June 14, 2006 2:21 pm

    As I seem to be the odd man out, I feel like it could be useful to offer a different perspective.

    I don’t know that I’ve ever experienced “quiet time guilt”. But I’ve felt the need to spend time with the Lord, and this time has generally been spent in what could be described as a quiet time, so maybe I have. Maybe it’s the qt/guilt association I’ve been missing.

    I *need* my qt. If I don’t get it I feel bad. I feel bad because I begin to honor my wife less, sin against my children more, and generally become less Christ-like.

    Hm. I don’t seem to have a clear concise point here, but I suppose I’m okay with that. I’m mostly just trying to raise my hand asn say, “Huh? I don’t get it.” :)

Leave a Reply

