Skip to content

Undiscerned Spiritual Pride

May 30, 2006

From the back of our bulletin, February 18th, 1996. Yes, that was over a decade ago.

“A few months ago after reading Jonathan Edwards’ chapter called “Undiscerned Spiritual Pride” in a section called “Obstacles to Revival” in his Thoughts on the Revival of Religion, I was prompted to spend a day doing a Bible study on pride. This was the end product:

Self Examination Questions for Discerning Spiritual Pride

1) Have I spoken of others’ sins with levity or contempt? (instead of with grief or not at all)
2) Have I treated others with suspicion? (instead of suspecting no one’s heart more than my own)
3) Have I been rough or harsh with anyone?
4) Have I said or done anything with the intention of being noticed?
5) Have I shown favoritism or neglected someone?
6) Have I been irreverent or disrespectful of God or men?
7) Have I been too talkative? (instead of slow to speak, quieted by His love)
8) Have I shown an unhealthy interest in controversy?
9) Have I been unwilling to listen to God or men?
10) Have I been defensive?
11) Have I insulted or mocked anyone?
12) Have I been irritable, impatient, or easily offended?
13) Have I been thankful for all that God has given me?
14) Have I sought God today, or have I lived as if I didn’t need Him?”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2006 9:27 am

    Alright bloggers, How’d you score?

    I think it’d be funny to put this up on quizilla.

    “If you scored 5-9 you’re an insufferable prig. Here’s an avatar for your blog…” Anybody smart enough to know how to do this?

  2. May 30, 2006 1:11 pm

    I blew it….

    I think I have done every single one this morning alone…

    lemme see…

    yeah, on second thought, forget it…

    I think I’ll just stop bloggin’ and go hang out with Jesus for a while. He’s awesome, and better for me than witty blog responses…

  3. May 30, 2006 5:42 pm

    thanks Mike. in one fell swoop you’ve rebuked us and democratized a little bit of Edwards.

    I did not score well, but this reminds me of something a friend of mine used to say:

    “I conquered pride at a very young age, as you can see by my numerous awards and accolades, I’m sure you’ve read about them…”

    per the avatar bit, google ‘gravatar’, but don’t you have an avatar on Purgatorio? I haven’t even gotten that far.

    one more thing, my wife wanted me to mention that we’re making up rules to avoid spiritual pride according to these questions. :)

  4. May 30, 2006 10:24 pm

    Mark:

    that’s awesome *big smiley grin*

  5. June 7, 2006 11:35 am

    Mike!

    Surely there must be some kind of dispensation in regards to Cub fans for #11? :)

Leave a Reply

