Skip to content

Sing the Psalms

March 2, 2006

Check out the new link on the right to sing the psalms.

Here’s one that I found recently. It’s Isaac Watts setting of Psalm 32. It’s in C.M. (Common Meter) so you can sing it to Amazing Grace or I Sing the Mighty Power of God or thousands of other melodies.

Happy the man to whom his God
No more imputes his sin,
But, washed in the Redeemer’s blood,
Hath made his garments clean.

Happy beyond expression he
Who debts are thus discharged;
And from the guilty bondage free,
He feels his soul enlarged.

His spirit hates deceit and lies,
His words are all sincere;
He guards his heart, he guards his eyes,
To keep his conscience clear.

While I my inward guilt suppressed,
No quiet could I find;
Thy wrath lay burning in my breast,
And racked my tortured mind.

Then I confessed my troubled thoughts,
My secret sins revealed;
Thy pard’ning grace forgave my faults,
Thy grace my pardon sealed.

This shall invite thy saints to pray;
When like a raging flood
Temptations rise, our strength and stay
Is a forgiving God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2006 7:49 am

    thanks for the psalms in meter link.

    I too enjoyed that piece of the sandwich.

    also of interest, the march LarkNews edition is out, there are some good ads such as ‘Rapture Insurance’ and ‘Absalom Ministries, Inc.’

Leave a Reply

