Skip to content

Paul Zahl

August 21, 2012
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    August 21, 2012 11:28 pm

    Yep. That is what I had when you were pastor. Grace from the pulpit. One-on-one with several people, and a great small group experience. (This still exists in that congregation, so no one should get me wrong there. :) ) Hmmmm, making me think about what is next. I just don’t know.

  2. August 22, 2012 9:08 am

    My favoriate part is around 2:07 where Paul says that we need to be in a one-on-one relationship where we are not being held to account. Over the years my wife and I have been in a number of different “accountability groups” that consisted of 2 or 3 Christians who would meet regularly. The idea was to keep each other on the straight and narrow by asking “tough question” which, as far as we can tell, were designed to make us feel more guilty.

    This changed when we realized we didn’t need to be accountable to each other – we’re accountable to God and in Christ we are forgiven. Then we started to freely confess our sins because we were no longer afraid of heaping up more and more guilt. Then we handed out the forgiveness of sins won by Christ like it was candy. Then we started praying for each other.

    Just seems fitting that the thing you’d think would make you better actually drives you into a pit of despair whereas the thing you’d think that would be “going easy on sin” actually comforts poor sinners and strengthens our faith.

  3. August 22, 2012 10:09 am

    I totally agree . That was my favorite moment as well. I don’t need any more accountabilibuddies. But I do need to confess to people who will pray for me and declare to me the entire forgiveness of all my sins.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

